Carrot Rice Nut Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Made a double batch it made 28 patties. Made them thin 1/2" so they heat all the way through and are toasted nicely on the outside. I ground the nuts to a "meal" consistency for better binding so burgers do not fall apart in fry pan. No need for any eggs. Chopped the carrots and onions very finely. Substituted 1 cup of rice for 1x19oz. can of chick peas also ground finely. Substituted olive oil with healthier and tastier organic virgin coconut oil. Once all ingredients were mixed together it seemed a bit dry so I added a 1/4 cup almond milk. The consistency was just like a ground beef or turkey mixture perfect for making into patties. I did add salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, dill weed, and cumin. I mashed and mixed with my hands ensuring all ingredients were well distributed. After forming into patties I separated them with wax paper and into Ziplock bag two at a time great for grabbing and making a quick lunch or dinner and into the freezer. After a half hour in freezer I fried them slowly at medium heat in coconut oil. They are a huge hit in my house...so tasty...absolutely no crumbling...perfect healthy yummy snack. We do not eat them as hamburger substitute....we love them alone or in a pita very felafel-like. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpeshulK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ButtercupBento
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These were nice but not exactly what I wanted and made huge burgers. My husband is instisting on me giving this higher than the 3 I would have rated these. A nice enough flavour but would have preferred more texture to them. Will experiment with how much I grind and blend the ingredients. Based on other reviews I added an egg to bind and some dried herbs for flavour and they held together while cooking but squidged out of the burger bun when eating. Edit: These tasted much better when warmed up under the grill the next day. Have frozen some and am interested to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
These turned out really nice. Mine were a bit crumbly, but not dry at all. They have a nice nutty flavor, but next time I will add some seasonings or cilantro or something to jazz it up a bit. I will try to freeze some and see how they cook up later. I have never used allrecipes.com but LOVE that you can choose how many servings you want to make and it adjusts the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
There were great. I added rosemary, thyme and sage, garlic and a ton of salt (salt freak!) Mine were not crumbly at all. I baked them in the oven as another reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I made these but they looked really dry and crumbly so I added 2 eggs per 5 servings. This held together better and made 10 veggie burgers. I baked them in the oven for 8-10 minutes per side at 375 because my parents really don't trust me with the grill. They tasted good but if you make a whole recipe, it will make a ton. The second time I made these I didn't add the olive oil because it just gummed up my tiny food processer the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
We halved the recipe, and added garlic and basil. It made 10 patties. They are great alone or as a sandwich. Ours weren't crumbly at all BTW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I've recently become vegetarian and was eager to find some healthy vegetarian recipes. I tried this one today and thought it was great. The patties stuck together quite well and I was even able to grill them on my George Foreman. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I prepared these last night, put most in the freezer, and cooked up a few for dinner. We had them cooked on a grill pan (lots of smoke!) with veggie gravy and mashed potatoes. They were good, but a little bland, and I wished I had made the patties thinner. Today I took one out of the freezer for lunch, cooked it in a covered skillet with some olive oil over med-low heat for about 10 minutes on each side, and ate it on a hamburger bun with ketchup and mustard. Amazing! The ketchup and mustard really made it shine. Now I have 15 more in the freezer to look forward to. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This stuck together really well, for me. I really blended the rice, as per another reviewers suggestion. However, I found the flavour to be quite cardboard-y. Next time, I'll definately be adding more spices, or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Absolutely wonderful - amazing hearty flavor that isn't overly heavy. I threw in a dash of veggie stock with the rice for a little extra oomph. Mine held together perfectly -- I think processing the rice very well is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States