Carrot Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hunnibell
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The "Ready In" time of 17 minutes seems totally unrealistic. I timed the whole process, and from start to finish it took me an hour and half, mostly because it simply takes a very long time for "most the milk" to evaporate. Still, patience paid off, and the recipe was delicious. It didn't seem as sickeningly sweet to me as some other Indian desserts I've tried, although it certainly is sweet. I used golden raisins, which tasted great, but I think regular raisins would serve as a better garnish because they would provide greater contrast against the cashews and carrots. Although making this dessert took a long time, it was extremely easy and except for the cardamom (which I had to buy for this recipe, but will use in other Indian dishes), the ingredients are all very simple and straightforward. We'll be enjoying this dish in my daughter's 5th grade class tomorrow as part of an early Diwali festival celebration, so thanks to the poster for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunnibell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great! My mother said it tasted even better than the local indian restaraunt's carrot desert dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I Loved this. I served for breakfast. My picky texture family didn't like it but they made up there minds before they even tasted it. I am giving 5 stars because I thought it was amazing. I made 1/2 the recipe because I didn't have enough carrots. I also substituted Vanilla Almond Milk because of milk allergies in my family. I also used a combination of cashews and almonds. I cut the butter in 1/2 and didn't add any sugar at all. The vanilla almond milk made it sweet enough. I added a little of the carrot milk out of the pan to the pan with the nuts. Instead of cardamon I used a pinch of pumpkin pie spice. SOOO Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
My entire family fell in love with this recipe, even my father who hates carrots. It is sweet and easy. I whipped it up in a few minutes and it was great cold the next afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Made the just the way it writhen, including sprinkling with cardamom. Was very good although a bit too sweet, next time will cut the sugar to ¾ of a cup versus a whole cup. My husband said with about half as much sugar he would like it as a breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I substituted dried white raisons and dried cherries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!! 1 cup sugar makes this maple syrup sweet; reduce the sugar for more carrot / vegetable flavor. As with another reviewer, this took much longer than "17 minutes" to cook. I used 2 cups of 2% milk and 4 cups (32 oz.) of shredded carrots. It took approximately 90 minutes to boil it down to the point of "most of the milk evaporates" - on medium high, uncovered. Added cinnamon and ground cloves based on personal preference. Also toasted some pecans first, before the rest of the topping. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADNJ79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I followed other reviewers' suggestion and started with sweetened condensed milk. I used 1 pound of carrots, grated, one 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk, and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon. From start to finish was about 20 minutes (including peeling & grating the carrots). Very tasty and sweet enough to be dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I’ve tried it with a whole cup and a half cup of sugar and the half cup lets you taste the carrots more but the full cup makes a good desert. The cardamom is a must to get the full experience of this dish. Not counting shredding the carrots, I can make this in about 20-30 minutes if I brown the cashews at the same time as I’m cooking the carrots. For the carrots I cook them on the highest setting my big burner will go and stir constantly so they don’t burn. This cuts the time down but you have to stir continuously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I thought this was great! It helps to have a mixer with a grating blade to get the carrots all cut. I kept the stovetop on high to medium for the whole time and it turned out great, plus the milk evaporated faster. I didn't have cashews on hand, but I chopped up walnuts and toasted them. I also added cinnamon instead of cardamum. It was kind of like hot carrot cake in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States