Carrot Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
My entire family fell in love with this recipe, even my father who hates carrots. It is sweet and easy. I whipped it up in a few minutes and it was great cold the next afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This tasted great, but it took me a couple HOURS for the liquid to evaporate. Even then, it was still a little "wet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I thought this was great! It helps to have a mixer with a grating blade to get the carrots all cut. I kept the stovetop on high to medium for the whole time and it turned out great, plus the milk evaporated faster. I didn't have cashews on hand, but I chopped up walnuts and toasted them. I also added cinnamon instead of cardamum. It was kind of like hot carrot cake in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I substituted dried white raisons and dried cherries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is a nice recipe and a simple easy and nutritious dessert to make. I found adding a little bit of condensed milk gives it a nice taste too along with the sugar. you can adjust the quantities according to how sweet you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe surprised me. I enjoyed it, but no one else in my family did (hence the 4 stars). I substituted part of the milk with sweetened condensed milk (I ran out of reg.) and reduced the sugar. I also added some cinnamon. It added a little warmth to the dish. Please note that the mixture does thicken as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Made the just the way it writhen, including sprinkling with cardamom. Was very good although a bit too sweet, next time will cut the sugar to ¾ of a cup versus a whole cup. My husband said with about half as much sugar he would like it as a breakfast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunnibell
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The "Ready In" time of 17 minutes seems totally unrealistic. I timed the whole process, and from start to finish it took me an hour and half, mostly because it simply takes a very long time for "most the milk" to evaporate. Still, patience paid off, and the recipe was delicious. It didn't seem as sickeningly sweet to me as some other Indian desserts I've tried, although it certainly is sweet. I used golden raisins, which tasted great, but I think regular raisins would serve as a better garnish because they would provide greater contrast against the cashews and carrots. Although making this dessert took a long time, it was extremely easy and except for the cardamom (which I had to buy for this recipe, but will use in other Indian dishes), the ingredients are all very simple and straightforward. We'll be enjoying this dish in my daughter's 5th grade class tomorrow as part of an early Diwali festival celebration, so thanks to the poster for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunnibell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!! 1 cup sugar makes this maple syrup sweet; reduce the sugar for more carrot / vegetable flavor. As with another reviewer, this took much longer than "17 minutes" to cook. I used 2 cups of 2% milk and 4 cups (32 oz.) of shredded carrots. It took approximately 90 minutes to boil it down to the point of "most of the milk evaporates" - on medium high, uncovered. Added cinnamon and ground cloves based on personal preference. Also toasted some pecans first, before the rest of the topping. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADNJ79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great! My mother said it tasted even better than the local indian restaraunt's carrot desert dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States