Carrot Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I found the prep time to be inaccurate. I cut the recipe about in half (two and a half cups of mashed, steamed carrots, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 2 Tbsp of flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp vanilla). I suppose I could have used a bit more baking power and vanilla. And I used less sugar than the original recipe called for, but that was intentional. I like the flavor. I like the texture. I like the sweetness level that I ended up with. But I thought the recipe was an awful lot of work. And, with all the prep time, it took over twice as long as it says. If I make the recipe again, I'll use a food processor rather than an electric mixer. And I'll probably separate the eggs, beat the egg whites until stiff, and fold them in to help the pudding "puff" more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We just didn't like this too much. It did kind of taste like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is good. Cut the sugar to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I make this as a sweet side dish (kugel for shabbat). I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup - and it is still sweet! I like the brite orange collor it has and that there is a low amount of flour in it - making it into a dense pudding and not more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
The flavor was very disappointing. If it had butter or margarine in it, it would have a more complete flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I grew up on Carrot Pudding. I have to tell you, it is REALLY good. We never ate it for dessert, though. It is one of the staples of our Holiday Dinners as a vegitable dish. I have now brought it to my husbands family, and they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Easy to make but a little too sweet. My parents and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Suggestions: A little more baking powder;cover it with almonds and cinnamon.Cut the sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I followed this recipe to a T i added pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon would never make it again. I do not even know who is going to finish this batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States