Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is the 4th time in 2 weeks that I am making this recipe. I love it for so many reasons: it's fulfilling, affordable, easy to make, and great to freeze/and or bring to work for leftovers. My roommate (who doesn't like cabbage even gobbled this up). I did add a little garlic powder and white pepper, but the recipe is so versatile that you could add anything to your own preference. By the way, I haven't even tried it pureed. It's great as it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdg2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Quite good. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Best veg soup ever! The only replacement i did was... That I used fresh parsley and fresh squeezed lemon to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyhealthcoach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good recipe. As most people say, I think it is the perfect soup to modify to your liking and to use up all the veg on the verge of going bad in the fridge. My modifications were: 1. I used leeks instead of onions, baby redskin potatoes with the skin on, added leftover mashed potatoes, multicolored carrots (those cool red, orange and yellow ones) and some apple cider vinegar. 2. I sauteed the leeks and the garlic in olive oil with some cracked black pepper and Celtic sea salt to start. 3. I used a homemade stock for the broth. It is really good, I usually end up mixing about half of it up to get a more satisfying texture. The cabbage can hide better that way, too. Good for a cold, grey day with a little one sick. Crank in that garlic and help fight the germs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
There is absolutely no reason to blend this beautiful soup. It's lovely just the way it is before the blend. I also buy a rotisserie chicken and pull the meat an add to the soup about 30 minutes before its done. Best when summered about an hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
20 minutes flat! So easy, so delicious, how can it be this simple!? I followed the recipe exactly except used fresh herbs instead of dried. Great, yummy, picky 3-year-old couldnt get enough! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Lovely recipe and one from which you can "stray." I used some broccoli and a tiny bit or rosemary. Pureed the broccoli. Really happy to have a dairy free potato soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
so simple, and so good, and got rave reviews from all my dinner guests! I don't know why it calls to be pureed, because having the nice texture of the vegetables was what made it so satisfying. I actually used canned diced potatoes (including the water they're packed in), which hold up really nicely in every recipe I've ever used them in and makes it that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
New Years requires cabbage....this helps save room for everything else in a tasty way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCKASUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Hi all - I enjoyed this recipe as well. I sauteed the onions with some butter and oil, and I had some roasted garlic leftover from last night, so I used that. I blended the soup with a little milk. Easy and satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States