Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Understand that my baking skills are extremely limited. On the other hand, after having a piece of this carrot cake, nobody can tell! I did read these reviews closely, at least until the general techniques that make this good recipe even better began to become apparent. I added 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and allspice to the dry ingredients, substituted 1/2 cup of apple sauce for 1/2 cup of the oil, and added 1 cup of golden raisins to the batter. I also doubled the frosting, and had plenty to frost the cake plus a little left over. Then, since I'm baking at an altitude of 8,000-feet, I increased the flour to 2-1/4 cups, decreased the baking powder to 1-1/2 teaspoons, decreased the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, increased the baking temperature to 375F and decreased the cooking time to 40 minutes. I made 2-9" rounds (parchment/grease/floured, of course) and they came out perfectly. Guess I better start a cake section in my home recipe book, because this one will be made a few times a year! Thanks, Linda! And thanks to all those real bakers who take the time and effort to make such great suggestions for us neophytes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This cake is absolutely delicious and the best carrot cake recipe I have ever tried. The icing really makes it. Tip - make sure you stir in the ingredients by hand as suggested. Do not use an electric mixer or the cake will really sink (I learned the hard way). This cake is also great as a bundt cake - make sure you grease the pan thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
A definite "keeper" - moist, delicious and not too sweet. I substituted applesauce for half of the oil and added yellow raisins. The cake, and frosting, were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I tried this recipe but substituted half the oil with low-fat buttermilk, added another cup of shredded carrots, and doubled the cream cheese frosting. It didn't sink (mixed with wooden spoon) and the cake received rave reviews. Hubby gets his carrot cake fix often at boutiques and bakeries but swears this is the best. Next time I will delete the coconut and switch the eggs with egg substitute. Might even try non-fat cream cheese. This is the best carrot cake I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOWARRIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have coconut so I omitted that and I wanted to cut down on the oil--so I substituted 2/3 cup applesauce and used only 1/3 cup oil. It turned out great! Next time I make it, I'd like to use an egg substitute for 2 of the 3 whole eggs to lower the fat even more and reduce the cholesterol. Will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Delicious and SO MOIST! I made it for a birthday, so I decided to bake 2 8" layers. It was so moist that it cracked while I was icing it. I would definetly make it in the suggested 9x13 pan next time. So, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
this is the best carrot cake recipie/cake i have ever tasted,what ever negative ratings you might see can only mean the cake was not done right.love it thank you Linda!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Absolutely scrumptious!! I made this for my Easter dinner, and it was a big hit--even with the kids. I did leave out the coconut, only because some do not prefer that, and I did increase the amount of carrots to 3 cups. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This was an excellent moist cake. I reduced the oil by a 1/4 cup and added a jar of carrot baby food. It was fabulous. Extremely moist. I frosted it with the whipped cream cream cheese frosting and it was perfect. My husband woke up and headed straight for the last piece for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARK89

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was a lot easier to make than I thought it would be. I got praise from everyone that tried it. They all said it was the best carrot cake they had ever had. Of course now everyone keeps bugging me to make it again. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States