Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made this a few days ago and we just finished devouring it last night. A few things: I used fresh pineapple instead of canned, and fresh coconut (unsweetened). I cut the sugar by half. I also subbed coconut oil for the vegetable oil because I'm trying to get away from using vegetable oil period. The batter was a bit dry and sticky (not sure if the oil sub was the cause), so I added about 1/3 cup pineapple juice, a little more coconut oil and about 1/4 cup water to get it to the right consistency. The end result was AMAZING. A super moist cake that isn't too sweet. One tip: The icing they mention in the recipe is just enough for a simple bundt (what I ended up doing because I was low on cream cheese), but if you plan to do a double-layer round, you'll need to double the icing at minimum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juleska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Absolutely wonderful the best carrot cake I ever had ,everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just delish! I substituted the flour for spelt flour, sugar for coconut sugar (1 1/4 cups), oil for macadamia nut oil (3/4 cup)...I had run out of walnuts so chopped up some almonds and for the icing...I mixed plain yoghurt with raw honey and a tiny bit of vanilla essence - AMAZING!! Can't believe the resemblance of yoghurt to cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This cake was a total hit at work when I brought it for a birthday party. I would totally make this again. I did substitute pecans for the walnuts but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I've also made cupcakes out of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Finally! This is what I have been looking for. I did heed the advice of one of the other reviewers and added half a cup of oil and half a cup of buttermilk. Stirred ingredients just until moist. Baked for exactly 45 minutes. Turned out sublime. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is truly the best carrot cake recipe EVER. So many people want this recipe from me. Moist and delicious ! The pineapple does the trick. I use pecannuts instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was a fabulous recipe! I made it for my mom's birthday cake and she raved and wants the recipe:)I made a couple of small changes, and these changes are ones I make with all recipes, for health reasons. I cut the sugar in half (3/4c), and instead of 1c. of oil, I used 1/2 c., and added 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
My husband made this cake for my birthday today. It needs allspice, nutmeg and more cinnamon. This is not the traditional taste for a carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
We love this recipe - improvised and made 12 little cupcakes and one 9x9 pan because some of the children cannot have nuts. It worked! Also made the 9x13. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a "T" and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
if i could give more stars i would, very yummy and moist we loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States