Carrot Pineapple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent Recipe! Great for bake sales and potlucks....or anytime! I followed the recipe for the cake but changed the frosting. I do not like the sickening sweet typical cream cheese frosting, it over powers a good cake. I made it this way and had a lighter version of the frosting: 1 - 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, creamed. Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Cream. Add 2 Tbl. milk to make it creamy and light and up to another 1/2 cup powdered sugar to a desired consistancy and sweetness. To finish, I added 1 tsp. orange zest for a surprise element that is very complimentary!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I was making this for Easter and was going to be celebrating with 2 families so I decided to make cupcakes instead. They turned out great! So moist and delicious! The only thing I changed (only because I didn't have the ingredients in the house) were I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of vegetable oil and I used Sea Salt instead of regular salt. I will definitly save this recipe :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent! I followed other suggestions subbing 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 oil and used 2 c. cake flour instead of AP. Baked 6 standard cupcakes for 25 mins and the remaining in a bundt pan for approx. 45 mins. Used the cream cheese frosting recipe provided and added just a pinch of Korintje cinnamon for added flavor. Since it was a bundt cake I sliced it in half, frosted the middle, replaced the top and applied another layer of frosting before topping it all off with crushed walnuts. The cake is very dense, moist and absolutely delicious. I made this as a test run for Easter dinner and it has definitely made the cut, no pun intended! Thank you for another great Holiday or anytime recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is fabulous. I changed a few things but am certain it would be just as tasty as written. (a) 1 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. (b) 1/3 cup appliesauce and 2/3 cup oil. (c) 3 cups shredded carrots. (d) 20 oz can pineapple drained well. (e) sprinkled chopped pecans on top after frosting, rather than putting nuts in the cake -- just because I forgot to put them in, but I think this is how I will do it from now on. (f) Baked in two round tins for a two layer cake rather than a 9 x 13. Reduced baking time by about 10 minutes (but do the toothpick test). This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this cake a couple of days ago...My husband and I LOVED it...We love the fact it is loaded with fruits and each bite has a unique flavor :) ...The only changes I made was using applesauce instead of oil and home-made carrot jam instead of carrots and half the amount of the sugar...Thank you Linda for the wonderful cake...Will surely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
A really moist cake and a true tasting old time carrot type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOUGHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was absolutely AMAZING!!! Great recipe!!! Yum! Cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I thought it was okay, but my boyfriend didn't like it. I guess it's personal preference. Were more cheesecake people then carrot cake. But if your a carrot cake lover you'll prolly like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this is guten und easy recipe, I like raisins en nuts en mine so i added 1 cup raisoins softened in hot water,and nuts which are so expensive now,used a 20oz can of pineapple and chopped up the chunks,on the icing I used 2 8oz cream cheese 1/3/4 cups sugar had to use blender to make a sub for powdered zugar,also vanilla in it.so i like dis wun.oh und also added nutmeg and ginger ground. also use coconut oil (virgin cold pressed not refined or processed. it gives a wonderful flavor and is quite a good nutrient source.I use it in my chocolate fresh or frozen cherry upside down cake and it gives such a flavor to the chocolate i sent it to the state tasters and they said they didnt do tastings.I said then what do you do? they said they smell instead of taste,I said soemthing smells fishy at tasters office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was by far the best carrot cake I ever tried. So moist and not too sweet. I will definitely keep this one in my recipe archives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States