Carrot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I'm late to the party but when helping a friend move; she had all these cans of carrots she was going to trash that was not expired. I like fresh carrots myself but I figured I'd make a pie with them. She laughed at me but I found this recipe and to be honest I used less sugar more spice and vanilla. I added a bit of lemon just because. Well, we both were surprised because we liked it and so did our friends. We didn't have milk but there was some heavy cream in the fridge so we used that. Not exactly low cal, but hey! we only ate a slice. :-) gonna try it with walnuts or pecans next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I had never had this type of pie, it seemed odd to make a pie from carrots but it was so good! Try it! I will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I'm in love with this pie and so was everyone else at my dinner table last night. So much better than pumpkin, in my opinion, and very cost effective. I added cardamom and cloves to it and used brown sugar instead for a more desserty feel. I'm not sure if carrot pie is a regional thing, but up here, it took some convincing for my friends to eat it as it had never been seen before. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Based on other reviews, I made it with only 1/2 cup of sugar and it was perfect! It was still sweet, but not sickeningly so. Our 4 children (ages 10, 8, 7, 2) all loved it and begged for more. This worked well as a after-school treat, a dinner side, or a breakfast side. It had less than a tablespoon of sugar per slice, so I was happy to let my kiddos have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of the 3/4 cup white sugar. I added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and allspice and 1/4 teaspoon ginger. Also, I used a mostly whole-wheat crust and added pecans and a few walnuts to the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Loved this pie! I used maple syrup instead of sugar, almond milk, and flour instead of eggs... now it's veganish and all my kids can eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great! My 3 and 5 year old LOVED it!!! So happy that my kids can eat a dessert that I feel comfortable giving them! It tastes great and it's healthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
AMAZING!!! I used a can of sliced carrots and it was just wonderful and SUPER easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
well i just made this, i cut the recipe in half and baked it in a custard cup (no crust). I was slightly shy a cup of carrots and only used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup milk, the vanilla was closer to a tsp and i added more cinnamon and i added nutmeg, will probably add some ginger or cloves. or pumpkin pie spice for easier baking. I mixed everything together and blended up in the blended. came out smoothe. I baked it for 10 mins at 400 and its cooked about 10-12 mins at 350. Its alot cheaper alternative to pumpkin pie. will definately make again. Thanks alot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious. I made this mostly as the recipe calls for, but I followed others' advice about adding less sugar. I used only about 1/3 cup. I also made these into "mini pies", by putting the pastry dough into muffin cups and adding enough carrot filling into each until it almost reached the top of the pastry dough. After they were cooked, I let them cool, put them them into a metal tin and severed them cold 2 days later while on a camping trip - everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States