Carrot Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was delicious. Will serve this again and again. Thanks, Hunting for Recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a great base for a unique vegetarian dish. As is, I found it a little bland, and a little too wet to hold together well. That being said, I like a lot of spice and flavor in my food. Like many others, I read some of the other reviews for ideas to modify this and came up with something I thought was really good. This recipe made about 8 thin hamburger sized patties, the first half I followed the recipe. To the second half I added (roughly) 1/4 cup italian bread crumbs, 2 tsp. curry powder and 1 tsp. ginger paste. The result reminded me of indian dishes I've had, and I think it would be great with some rice as a main dish. I dipped it in soy sauce and it was great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Excellent! Even my 5 year old loves them. I added flax seeds, use a few extra tablespoons of olive oil, and 2 less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was an easy recipe, but I wasn't altogether impressed. I really like cooked carrots, but didn't enjoy these. I expected them to be more flavorful, but found that this recipe was bland. If I make them again, I'll try adding more and different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
These were delicious!!! I added a squirt of dijon mustard to the mix and used italian bread crumbs and there was plenty of flavour. Fried them in a little EVOO and as a non-veggie lover hubby and I ate these with a spinach salad for supper. No meat needed!! Will make again and again as hubby already asked could we have them tonight. Next time I will add a dash of nutmeg and perhaps some greek seasoning or just play with wahtever spices we feel like using. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
As a vegetarian trying to lose some weight, this was a great recipe to add to my new weekly menu! I served them like a hamburger patty. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I hesitate to give this a 5 star because I changed it so much... but what I did end up with was excellent. I didn't have even a half pound of shredded carrots so subbed in some potato. I shredded 1 large potato, then rinsed it in cold water, & squeezed out the excess water. Next I took about 3 cups of shredded carrots and put them in the microwave for 30 sec bursts three or four times (until they seemed to soften some... I wanted them to be done when the potatoes were done,) stirring between each burst. Then I mixed the potato and carrot together with seasonings (salt, garlic, onion powder, salt, a dash of cayenne and black pepper.) Added 1/3 cup barely cooked finely chopped onions (again I used the microwave) and a couple of tablespoons of flour mixing well. I molded them into patties as firmly as I could and fried them in an oiled pan over medium heat(I brushed my nonstick pan with oil.) Just before I turned the patties over I put about a 1/4 tsp of butter on top of each patty, which gave them excellent flavor and kept them from burning. (No eggs and no crumbs at all.) HINT: Like hashbrowns they stick together best if you wait until the bottom is somewhat crisp before you turn them, and don't keep turning them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Delicious! I added more whole wheat flour and egg to make sure they stuck together well, they worked wonderful. Just used a spoon to pour a bit of batter into the pan then used the spoon to flatten into a patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sofiemyr, Akershus, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
A nice change from potato pancakes. Next time I will make more since they were such a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
We eat vegetarian several times a week and we both really enjoy these patties. They are quick too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States