Carrot Ginger Creme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Amazing carrot soup, just what I was looking for. It doesn't get much easier than this. I used 3 cups of milk instead of 2 cups half-and-half and it still gave me a very consistent soup. I used butter instead of oil, though I don't know that that made much of a difference. Just missing a little seasoning of some sort. I used fresh grated ginger and added oregano and a little parsley. I will use this recipe again and again when I don't know what to do with leftover carrots. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
MMM... thanks for this! I added a little more than 1/2 c. of cheddar cheese, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I boiled up a chicken bouillon with celery and onion for my broth (5 cups water boiled down to 4 cups) since that was all I had handy and used 1/2 cup apple juice to sweeten a little. Next time I would cut the ginger a bit. I love the taste but not so much burn. In any case, it was delicious! I'm going to make it again tomorrow. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This soup is amazing. The only thing I didn't put was the cream or any milk. Instead I added 5 cups of water and 4 tsp of low sodium vegtable broth powder. It's healthier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I added a lot more ginger, which was really tasty, but I had a lot of trouble getting it smooth. It didn't affect the taste, but it did look disconcerting. :) I'd also probably use 1% milk instead of half-and-half in the future, as it didn't add much and it made it seem too heavy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
An excellent recipe. Easy, quick, healthy, and very tasty. Can't beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I used about 1/2 cup Ornage Juice and fat free half and half. Also used 4 teaspoons of ginger instead of 2. Wonderful recipe to be re-used over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is a great soup recipe. I wanted something a little different but easy and with ingredients I keep on hand. This fit perfectly. I did make a few changes in that I used fresh grated ginger, chicken broth, I added some chopped fresh cilantro and cooked it with the carrots, and about 1/3 cup of orange juice to add a little sweetness. I finished it with 2% milk and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I used substituted condensed milk and fresh ginger and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I hate cooked carrots but I love this soup. I also substituted skim milk for the half/half and it still turns out fantastic. Tasty happiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States