Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I had this at a friends house and wanted to make it one night, but I had never made jello before. This was very helpful. It one of my go-tos now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Rube Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverview, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I grew up on this recipe. My mother added, as I do, sliced pimento stuffed olives. It adds color and cuts the sweet a little. When I married in the late 70s, this salad was listed in my red Betty Crocker cookbook as Sunhine Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Not gonna lie...this was MUCH better than I thought it would be. Next time, I'll swap out the carrots for coconut. It's basically a citrus explosion in your mouth...with a little carrot crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I am 77 and have made this salad for years as my mother before. Lost the recipe and "voila" after 6 years I found it. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I also make my own dressing. Heavy cream, mustard, vinegar and sugar. I can not give you amounts as I do it to taste. It really makes the salad, though. I forgot, I also add finely chopped celery. I have an old fashioned hand grinder. Does the carrots great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I bought orange jello by mistake, but I don't think it mattered. I didn't have crushed pineapple so I just chopped up some rings. I also only used two large carrots. I had four, but 2 seemed like plenty and this was still delicious. Obviously very versatile recipe. I will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Reduced Sugar Option: I love this salad but have diabetic relatives who carefully watch their carb counts. To reduce the carbs per serving, I have made this recipe with sugar-free jello (either lime, lemon or orange) and, instead of adding the extra carbs of the pineapple juice, substitute either sugar free lemon-lime soda OR Minute Maid light lemonade (from the soda aisle). Tastes great and has fewer carbs per serving. Try it and enjoy! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My Grandma called it Sunshine Salad and I loved it - she would make a dressing out of miracle whip, a bit of sugar and thin it with a little milk. Top the salad with that and YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is really good I am a diabetic so I used sugar free strawberry jello and lite pineapple chunks, shredded carrots and celery chopped real fine, my grandson ate it up not actually knowing how good it was for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have made this a few times now and I love it! I have tried it with crushed pineapple and also with pineapple tidbits and I preferred the tidbits for a few reasons.. one being I was able to drain the juice and also the texture & size of the little tidbits was perfect. Also I prefer strawberry gelatin but like the orange also... next I will try with lime gelatin and also going to try a strawberry-banana one too :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra
Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
my Grandma always used orange jello. always a little something of hers that I remember : ) nothing fancy- but oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States