Carrot Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I love this salad and have been making it for years!! It is great if you are on a diet and use sugar-free jello. Substituting orange jello for lemon is my favorite. I also mix all the ingredients together at the same time (not chilling the jello then adding the pineapple and carrots. Do not use store bought shredded carrots. Shred them yourself on a grater (better texture than in a food processor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is very similar to a recipe my mother always made called "Perfection Salad." She learned it in home ec class in the early '40's. She always used lime jello, and besides the carrots and pineapple, she would sometimes add in some finely chopped celery, or some shredded cabbage. One of my favorites from my childhood! Thanks for sharing it, Asteng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Great recipe. Super easy. My Grandma always uses orange jello. This is always a holiday favorite as the bright color pairs well with other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
great salad!!! however I do like better when made with lime jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
VERY good! Mom used to make this and was one of the first things I learned to make. Lost the recipe but found this one. We called it carrot-pineapple salad, but the recipie is the same! thanks for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
GREAT RECIPE. we have also made one similar to this at the nursing home where I am the dietary manager at. Our residents have always called it sunshine salad. Isn't amazing all the different names that this has
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a holiday favorite at Grandma's house! Grandma also sometimes added some shredded cabbage if she had some. Great way to get the kids to eat their veggies. Please pass the lemon jello :). I give this recipe 10 stars for nostalgia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother always used lime jello but all I had was orange this time so I added orange soda for the cold liquid and after it thickened, I whipped it with my mixer. Then folded in grated carrots and finely sliced celery. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Springbrook, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Oh yes, I remember mom making this salad back in the day. She called it Complexion Salad - said that it was great for your skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My mom in law made this salad or a version of it and it was really different and tasty. She used lime jello (she said any citrus flavor would do-good with lemon also), she added small chopped celery, shrredded or chopped fine apple, shredded cabbage, a bit of pineapple and carrots- the amounts of each are to your liking or what you have on hand, and last but not least, onion. Yes, onion. She always served it cut in squares on lettuce with a dollop of mayonaise sprinkled with paprika on the side. It looked special and it always added a refreshing treat to our meal. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States