Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's birthday, his favourite cake is carrot cake. They turned out well, he loved them...I topped them with a few curls of shaved white chocolate for pizzaz! The only complaint I have is that the recipe for the icing makes a totally ridiculous amount of icing - a big waste of ingredients!! Next time I'd cut the icing recipe at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe was fabulous!! I doubled the cupcake recipe and kept the frosting recipe as is and had just the right amount of frosting. I found that once the frosting was on the cupcakes the orange flavor was just right, not overpowering at all. I used 1 C. whole wheat flour to 2 C. all-purpose flour and substituted coconut for the walnuts. I kept everything else the same and got rave reviews and many requests for this recipe! I definitely recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefX39
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I once again made these cupcakes this time for a summer Sunday evening BBQ. Made with the frosting from Carrot Cake III. Once again received rave reviews and many comments that they are delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These were exactly like my grandma's carrot cake she used to make. I changed it up a bit...1/2 apple sauce for 1/2 the oil, whole wheat flour, brown sugar for white. Super moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Two thumbs up! I cut the frosting recipe in half per the advice of another review, which is an excellent idea. On top of that, I modified to make a lower calorie frosting and cut the butter in half along with using milk instead of cream and the frosting was still excellent. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
The cupcakes turned out excellent! People at work were practically fighting over them. I will concur with the other reviewers who said this recipe makes WAY TOO MUCH frosting. I doubled the batch because it says it only makes 12 cupcakes, but I actually ended up with close to 50, which I thought I was generously frosting until I was done and there was still a full two cups of frosting left!!! And I didn't double the frosting recipe! I also didn't have any orange extract so I put a dot of lemon extract in and it gave the frosting a nice citrusy flavor without being overpowering. I put an entire 20 oz can of crushed pineapple (which I drained, but not very well) in the cake batter because I didn't feel like wasting it. I will make these again, but maybe not so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janer110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndonville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These are SO good! Really decadent. (And I thought I "didn't like" carrot cake.) My daughter saw some beautiful carrot cupcakes w/cream cheese frosting at Trader Joe's and wanted to buy them; I told her we'd do better and make some instead! This recipe looked good, and it was. I have never made carrot cake before and was unsure of the pineapple, but it's great. I also thought the batter was really liquidy, but I guess it's supposed to be that way. I got 15 cupcakes out of this. I reduced the white sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I used 1% milk in the frosting, not cream, and it was fine. I made all of the frosting (used Neufchatel), and yes it is too much, but I was expecting that because I read the reviews. I'm going to use the rest to frost some chocolate cookies. The frosting is really good; I added an extra ounce of white chocolate. Next time I would only do 3 cups of sugar- it's pretty sweet as-is. You can really taste the orange too but I like that. This recipe is really good, and almost perfect (except for the sugar) so it gets 5 stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I only tried making the icing and it was the best tasting I've ever made. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is an exceptional carrot cake cupcake recipe! The cupcakes are moist and full of flavor! I shreddded the carrots on the fine side of my shredder. As for the crushed pineapple, I wasn't sure if I should drain it or not -- I drained it and saved the juice and added about half of the reserved juice at the end when I saw the consistency. With that said, I think the recipe would be absolutely fine if the pineapple is drained or not. I did not use the frosting on this recipe -- I used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wonderful!The best! I also used the cream cheese frosting recipe from this site.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States