Carrot Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Very good! To make this recipe even better and a little bit on the healthier side, I substituted 1/2 cup of the butter for applesauce, I used whole wheat flour, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the amount of cinnamon to about 2 to 3 tsp. I didn't put in any orange zest because I didn't have any, but I definitely will next time, even though they were great without it! All-in-all...a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Great cookies! Very soft and moist inside, which I like. My changes: finely chopped carrots rather than grated, and whole wheat flour rather than all-purpose. I also pressed the cookies lightly with a glass bottom before baking since they don't flatten at all on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I halfed the recipe and I added vanilla because I didnt have any orange zest. I also cooked these in my toaster oven so they didnt brown on the sides but I took them out at the time said in the recipe. This is THE BEST recipe I have tried on this site! These cookies are excellent!!! and since I see people added other things to the recipe like walnuts and raisins I guess that means I can add more carrots!!!! thank you so much for this recipe. it is SUPER DUPER DELICIOUS!!!! if i ever gave any other recipe 5 stars , I take one back and give this one extras. yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
They were AWESOME. 1st batch was really good, but the 2nd batch I added raisins and walnuts and topped them off the an orange glaze. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Flavor is very good. The dough was stiff enough to roll into balls and then flatten with a fork. They didn't spread much. Nice to have a crisper carrot cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I'm on a diet right now, and this recipe was exactly the recipe I was looking for. To make this recipe even more low-fat, I used 1 cup I can't Believe It's Not Butter Light (which has the half the fat and calories than normal butter) and I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar because I didn't have Splenda on hand. I'm also a cookie dough fiend, so out of curiosity I tried some of the dough before I added in the carrots. It was so yummy, and it was nice to know I was only eating one raw egg :). Like some of the other revewiers said, the cookies don't spread much when you bake them and the dough is a little bit sticky, so before placing the balls on the cookie sheet, I flattened them in my hands a bit. Also, instead of greasing a cookie sheet or using wax paper, I just stuck them on aluminum foil, so when my first batch finished, I simply took the foil (with the cookies still on it) out of the pan, set it on the counter and let it cool while I grabbed a new sheet of foil and baked my second batch. i made this review before i baked the cookies and after they baked, they were very bland. recipe needs sugar and tastes better as a dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are truely yummy, I added 1/2 Teespoon of ground Cardamon powder & the whole seeds of 2-3 whole Cardamon pods to the mixture... Devine !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
These are delicious! I used whole wheat flour, no salt, and a full teaspoon of cinnamon, along with a dash of nutmeg. I also added about a cup of raisins which I had soaked in hot water. I also used 1/2cup white sugar and 1/4cup splenda brown sugar mix. I had to cook them longer, about 15-18 mins, but it could be my oven. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
The orange and carrot blend is different, and very tasty. I made it exactly as specified, no changes, and the whole family was pleased. This is a keeper; a good way to use all those CSA carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Instead of 2 2/3 cups of all-purpose, I put 1 2/3 cups all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat. It was extremely dry and hard to form into dough. So, I had to add about 2 tsp of vanilla. I guess because I added liquid(vanilla), it turned out really chewy. It was very yummy and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States