Carrot Coconut Lime Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I only used 40.5 oz of coconut milk. Buying five cans of coconut milk seemed absurd, but three was reasonable. I didn't add anymore liquid to the soup and thought that all the flavors were very muted. I preferred it hot, my partner preferred it cold. If I were to make it again I would add a red bell pepper, more chili paste, more ginger, and less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyrthisthat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was sublime! I reduced the chili by half and it had the perfect amount of heat. (still too spicy for the kids though.) I added shrimp also... seemed like a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Henry Connolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I think there was too much coconut milk in this recipe; even using half regular and half light coconut milk, it was too rich for me. Next time I would use half of the coconut milk, and use more vegetable broth for the rest of the liquid. I also thought it needed some salt and more spice. I would add more chile paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This soup just didn't work for me or my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very tasty and freezes well. I used a 1/2 cup less of coconut milk because I ran out and it was still very thick (which we like). Using a blender gives it a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Has the base of being a super soup but the quanity it ends up making dilutes the flavour. I followed the recipe, tasted it and I was disappointed, it seriously was lacking flavour. Soo I doubled up on chilli and garlic, tripled the ginger and cumin. I also added fish sauce (not necessary but it added depth) and added about 3 stalks of lemongrass (3 tbl spoons). Now it has the perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! Easy to make, and to cater to specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Now this is some good soup! I do agree that it needs some salt and pepper, and I cut back on the ginger a bit since 1t a bit much for my taste. I also use canned coconut cream which is way richer than coconut milk - a little goes a long way. Like all soups I make, I find that they are much better if you make them a day ahead. Thanks, sourpony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Desperately needed some salt & pepper, but once they were added, the soup was quite good. Nice texture and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If done right this soup is SUPER YUMMY! First, I made my own veggie broth with chopped up carrots, celery and onion. I added an all natural chicken base to it but you could just add some salt too. I also used Thai Kitchen brand red curry paste. I was assuming this is something like what the recipe called for. Last but not least I doubled the fresh ginger. Used a stick blender to blend so I didn't have to pour it into a belnder. AMAZING!!!! Just a note...most brands of "lite" coconut milk is just watered down coconut milk. If you want "lite" just use a little less of the coconut milk and add water. Save money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Coconut and lime marinated kale cooked on a grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States