Carrot Coconut Lime Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I only used 40.5 oz of coconut milk. Buying five cans of coconut milk seemed absurd, but three was reasonable. I didn't add anymore liquid to the soup and thought that all the flavors were very muted. I preferred it hot, my partner preferred it cold. If I were to make it again I would add a red bell pepper, more chili paste, more ginger, and less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martyrthisthat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This was sublime! I reduced the chili by half and it had the perfect amount of heat. (still too spicy for the kids though.) I added shrimp also... seemed like a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Henry Connolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I think there was too much coconut milk in this recipe; even using half regular and half light coconut milk, it was too rich for me. Next time I would use half of the coconut milk, and use more vegetable broth for the rest of the liquid. I also thought it needed some salt and more spice. I would add more chile paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This soup just didn't work for me or my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very tasty and freezes well. I used a 1/2 cup less of coconut milk because I ran out and it was still very thick (which we like). Using a blender gives it a smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Has the base of being a super soup but the quanity it ends up making dilutes the flavour. I followed the recipe, tasted it and I was disappointed, it seriously was lacking flavour. Soo I doubled up on chilli and garlic, tripled the ginger and cumin. I also added fish sauce (not necessary but it added depth) and added about 3 stalks of lemongrass (3 tbl spoons). Now it has the perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! Easy to make, and to cater to specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Now this is some good soup! I do agree that it needs some salt and pepper, and I cut back on the ginger a bit since 1t a bit much for my taste. I also use canned coconut cream which is way richer than coconut milk - a little goes a long way. Like all soups I make, I find that they are much better if you make them a day ahead. Thanks, sourpony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Desperately needed some salt & pepper, but once they were added, the soup was quite good. Nice texture and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If done right this soup is SUPER YUMMY! First, I made my own veggie broth with chopped up carrots, celery and onion. I added an all natural chicken base to it but you could just add some salt too. I also used Thai Kitchen brand red curry paste. I was assuming this is something like what the recipe called for. Last but not least I doubled the fresh ginger. Used a stick blender to blend so I didn't have to pour it into a belnder. AMAZING!!!! Just a note...most brands of "lite" coconut milk is just watered down coconut milk. If you want "lite" just use a little less of the coconut milk and add water. Save money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Coconut and lime marinated kale cooked on a grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States