Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I forgot to add chili at first but the soup tasted so much better with it. Also, it's better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Delicious... Can also substitute crushed red pepper for chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This soup is fantastic, it will be made often in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
MMMMMMMMM!!! Ten out of ten... for Ease, Speed, Flexibility, Comfort, Satisfaction and Great Taste. chunky or not, thicker or thinner, veg broth or chicken, lots of lemon juice or less, sour cream or no, tortilla chips on bottom of the bowl or not, tons of cilantro or a bit, opening course of a lovely mexican meal or a light comforting lunch/dinner. YEP.. A total keeper and a staple on our menus from now on. TY Very M for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I'd never made carrot soup before but my husband and I were very pleased with how this turned out. I used chile powder, since that's what I had. I also used frozen hashbrowns to save time. The only other real change I made was to add about 3/4 can of condensed milk in the last five minutes (made it nice and rich). Then I put it all in the blender (solids first). Once dished into bowls I put in a little cilantro for garnish. Yummy! Next time I think I'll put some cayenne in for heat. I Baked breaded chicken (to which I added chile powder to tie it in) and steamed broccoli to go with it. It tasted really good after a bite of broccoli but just okay after a bite of chicken. Just an FYI. I think it'd be good with mexican food. Can't wait to enjoy more soup tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Can you spell YUM?!!?! Easy and simple recipe. I bought 10 lbs. of carrots accidentally and didn't want any to go to waste. Carrot soup was the perfect answer. Low-fat, low-cal, tastes great and FILLING! I added 4 whole cloves of garlic, didn't peel anything (except the onions) and boiled it all together. Pureed the mixture, added 2 Tbls. cilantro, extra chili powder and juice from a whole lime. If you don't have chili paste, use chili powder, salt and vinegar (base ingredients to chili paste). This soup defined comfort food!! I will definently make it again! This would be a great starter for a Thanksgiving feast. Oh!! I also added 2 extra carrots! ;0) Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICDIVA1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Delicious!!! I did not have chili paste and used chili powder instead. Instead of a peeled potato, I used the flaky stuff from the box (lazy!) after blending which worked great in thickening the soup. I love cilantro, so I used way more than the recipe called for. I added half of the chopped cilantro after the mixture was blended which preserves its taste better. At the very end, I added a little lemon juice which made even more perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This is an excellent soup! I don't blend it at all and I triple the amount of cilantro. I've made this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is fantastic! I use some extra cilantro b/c I love it, but is just fine as is. Nice and light, great first course for a heavier mexican feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made this into Cilantro lime and black bean soup. Used this recipe as the base. I won't add carrot next time I make it for orange soup is not appealing and carrot adds zero flavor. I used about 4 squeezed limes and a ton of cilantro to taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States