Carrot Chile and Cilantro Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was shocked by how good this soup was. I admit I made this recipe with pretty low expectations, I mean, how great can carrot soup be? But this recipe is fantastic! I tried it both with half and half to make a cream soup and without and it's delicious both ways. I did add more cilantro than the recipe called for and substituted red pepper flakes for the chile. Also, one caveat, my soup didn't not look as pretty as the one in the picture - for some reason it was more brownish than orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren N.
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I didn't have any chili paste, so I just threw some crushed red pepper into the pot when everything was simmering together. It turned out well. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
We thought this soup was excellent - the quality of a fine restaurant. I substituted crushed red pepper for chili paste, and added extra garlic and cilantro because I love these seasonings. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Surprisingly tasted better when cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong...but we ended up dumping this soup down the drain! I used chili powder instead of paste..but followed another persons tip from a positive review. This was a lot of work for a very bland result that we couldn't even eat :( Better luck to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was a very tasty soup and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I liked this but my roommate didn't. We served it to a dinner of 16 people and while some loved it, others left theirs almost untouched. I think the look may have scared some away. For the taste, maybe a little more cilantro would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this soup last night for a dinner party and was it ever a hit! Very flavorful and light! Perfect for preparing the palate at the beginning of a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkd14u

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
WOW! I ate that soup all day long...it was fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mailherr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Love this soup! And its so simple to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States