Carrot Cheesecake with Crumb Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is delicious with a lovely texture. I will definitely make this again. It belongs in my top 5 desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Well to say, this carrot cheesecake was VERY elegant looking and simply looked the part. The recipe was very easy to do. I didn't do a water bath for it and thought I should because the ingredients were processed in a food processor. It did crack, not like I thought it was going to, but mainly around the outer edge of the dessert and that wasn't that bad at all. I choose to keep my pecans in halved peices verses chopped. However, I followed to a T. Texture wise, the cheesecake was right on point with creamy and smoothness. The crust was by far superior with texture and flavor. I'd make the crust again. Because it held it's form when cutting and overall look and the flavor of the crust was really good. However the flavor of the cheesecake was a bit different. I found the zesting of the orange over-powering in flavor as well as the spices. It did taste similar to pumpkin and so it was just not what I expected. I would totally tone down the orange and spice flavor to see if the carrot flavor would shine through. Having said that. I can see changing the carrot to a sweet potato OR pumpkin. I don't want to say it was overly bad but I won't say it was the best either. It was just okay. My husband however said, that it wasn't his favorite but was okay. Not something he would totally request me to make again, unless I've perfected a great flavor. If you like a faux pumpkin cheesecake, then this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I tried to follow this recipe exactly but I have never seen a food processor big enough to handle this filling! I did as much as I could in mine and then dumped it in a bowl and used an electric hand mixer to beat in the cream cheese. Otherwise it was nice and easy. As for finished product, it tasted great, similar to pumpkin flavor, and the texture was firm and creamy. The top cracked, but mine usually do, and I actually think it makes it seem more homemade and authentic, and anyway the taste is far more important than appearance, and it tasted great! I'm a little ashamed to admit, but for the sake of review, six of us finished off the whole pie in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I love to make cheesecake and am told often how great mine is, so when I said I was bringing a carrot cheesecake to Easter dinner, everyone was excited. Anytime I make any other cheesecake, there is not a bit left over. I ended up taking most of this one home because no one cared for it. The flavor was more like a gingered pumpkin pie than a corrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I LOVE CHEESECAKE AND THIS ONE IS NO EXEPTION.... A LITTLE MORE WORK, BUT WORTH IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I changed this recipe to make mini cheesecakes instead. I don't have a springform pan. It turned out great. My husband, who doesn't like cheesecake, ate 3. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
This came out fantastic! I made this last Christmas and not one other dessert was touched on the dessert table. I have reputation for good cheesecake (for my own recipie) and this one didn't tarnish that reputation at all! Highly recommend to other bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very pretty, but kind of bland; I made the following changes; 1) after pureeing the carrots, add *double* all of the spices and juices (I use orange/lemon juice/zest interchangeably), as well as 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 2) beat the cream cheese until soft, adding about 1/4 cup of white sugar while beating, 3) add the carrot mixture in halves to the cream cheese, beating until smooth after each addition, scraping the bowl frequently, 4) after adding the eggs and pouring into the crust, place the springform into a hot water bath, reaching about halfway up the pan. Bake as directed. Comes out crack-free, creamy and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made this recipe for a meeting and was a little disappointed. Even using the water bath it cracked and a skin formed. I ultimately removed the unsightly skin and topped it with whipped cream and chopped pecans. My guests loved it and asked for the recipe, but I was not impressed with the flavor. It tasted more like a pumpkin cheesecake than carrot cake (and not a very good pumpkin cheesecake). I was really looking forward to a flavor more like an actual carrot cake. The crust was very good and the cheesecake was easy to make. I sent the leftovers home with one of my guests. I don't think that I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful dessert! It's a rich color, and the flavor is delightful. A welcome change from the more common fruit-topped cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States