Carrot Cashew Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
After reading the reviews, I made a few changes to the recipe. I shredded the carrots in the food processor, and used another attatchment to break up the cashews into smaller pieces. With the previous comments on the carrots and nuts settling to the bottom, I think that might solve part of the issue. Mine was loaded from top to bottom. I skipped the honey completely and added more egg (I never measure my quiche mix. It's just habit). I tossed the carrots and nuts with the cheese before filling with the egg mixture. Since I had enough to fill 2-3 shells, I added spinach to one shell. Fantastic. great idea on flavors--the technique just needed a litle tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did tweak this one. I took everyone's advice... Cut back on the butter, only 1/4 Honey, cut up the nuts & carrots more so they didn't sink to the bottom & I tossed in a dash of garlic powder & chopped a small 1/4 onion -Onion in the carrot mixture & garlic went in the egg... This is great! It was a hit & fun to hear my son tell me how he was so surprised that it wasn't awful like most other quiche recipes! lol (He normally doesn't care for Quiche!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara K. Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Simply nice, so very, very nice. I loved it and thought a nice salad would have been so nice with this nice quiche. But alas, only crude cupboard items were at hand - what a pity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
After reading the other reviews here, I was thinking that maybe these flavors were going to be too weird for us in a quiche, but we totally loved this. It got even better the next day as well. Other than lightly chopping up the carrots and cashews in a food processor, I didn't change a thing. I served this with the avocado quick bread also on this website. A great brunch or light lunch dish and we thought delicious either hot or cold. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This dish has a lot of potential. I think it's way too heavy on the heavy cream, which tends to overwhelm the eggs and makes you forget that it's a quiche. Also, the next time I make it, I'll cut way back on the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Fantastic recipe but I decreased butter to 1 tablespoon; crushed the cashews; decreased honey to 1/4 cup and changed heavy cream to milk and only used 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Really enjoyed this - always looking for something different - Got rid of the honey and used fat free half and half. Chopped the carrots and cashews in food processor. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I'd like to rate this higher, but the flavor, while good, was not stellar. As my daughter and I ate it, we were thinking, it wants to be sweeter or it wants more egg and something like onion and/or garlic flavor. With the nutmeg and honey, it wanted to be dessert, but because of the egg, carrots, cashews, and cheddar, it wanted to be something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a very unique and tasty recipe. It was all the rage at a potluck brunch I attended. I altered the recipe by adding one more egg to give it a bit of bulk and reducing the honey to about 1/3 C. The one problem with the recipe is that I found that the cheese and carrot mixture stayed at the bottom while the egg rose to the top--it didn't all mix together the way quiche usually does, and I'm not quite sure why this happened. This made the quiche hard to eat because the carrots and cashews kept tumbling around the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
The taste was incredible and everyone loved it. However, there is more than enough saturated fat in this! Cut the butter to 3 Tbs (seriously) and use half and half instead of cream and this will actually be better (it is too fat as written, it's awfully heavy). This could even be reduced further and still have the great flavor. This is going to be a new staple meal and I can't wait to serve it at church functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States