Carrot Cashew Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Really enjoyed this - always looking for something different - Got rid of the honey and used fat free half and half. Chopped the carrots and cashews in food processor. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I agree with the comment that this tastes almost too heavy to be a quiche, next time I will cut down on the butter, honey & cream a bit to see if that helps. It was nice to try this recipe and even my meat & potatoes hubby enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I made two versions of this quiche recently - one as published, and one with tweaking. After reading the reviews, I wanted to try a version that was a little more savory, so I cut the honey in half, and added a teaspoon of curry powder. Unfortunatley, neither of the versions turned out to be very tasty. I think the base recipe (without my tweaking) was the better quiche. If I were to make it again I would probably add a little more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
After reading the other reviews here, I was thinking that maybe these flavors were going to be too weird for us in a quiche, but we totally loved this. It got even better the next day as well. Other than lightly chopping up the carrots and cashews in a food processor, I didn't change a thing. I served this with the avocado quick bread also on this website. A great brunch or light lunch dish and we thought delicious either hot or cold. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I'd like to rate this higher, but the flavor, while good, was not stellar. As my daughter and I ate it, we were thinking, it wants to be sweeter or it wants more egg and something like onion and/or garlic flavor. With the nutmeg and honey, it wanted to be dessert, but because of the egg, carrots, cashews, and cheddar, it wanted to be something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
After reading the reviews, I made a few changes to the recipe. I shredded the carrots in the food processor, and used another attatchment to break up the cashews into smaller pieces. With the previous comments on the carrots and nuts settling to the bottom, I think that might solve part of the issue. Mine was loaded from top to bottom. I skipped the honey completely and added more egg (I never measure my quiche mix. It's just habit). I tossed the carrots and nuts with the cheese before filling with the egg mixture. Since I had enough to fill 2-3 shells, I added spinach to one shell. Fantastic. great idea on flavors--the technique just needed a litle tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was very different!! I'm still not sure about the flavors. If i do make this again i would cut the honey in half and probably chopped my nuts a little finer. Its a unique different option for Quiche so i gave it 4 stars for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a very unique and tasty recipe. It was all the rage at a potluck brunch I attended. I altered the recipe by adding one more egg to give it a bit of bulk and reducing the honey to about 1/3 C. The one problem with the recipe is that I found that the cheese and carrot mixture stayed at the bottom while the egg rose to the top--it didn't all mix together the way quiche usually does, and I'm not quite sure why this happened. This made the quiche hard to eat because the carrots and cashews kept tumbling around the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Wow! Wonderful. I made this for a wedding shower and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This dish has a lot of potential. I think it's way too heavy on the heavy cream, which tends to overwhelm the eggs and makes you forget that it's a quiche. Also, the next time I make it, I'll cut way back on the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States