Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
it was extremley greasy but really delicious. today i made your carrot cake again. i cut the oil and the sugar down by half and it became even more delish. thank you for this recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARRIELYNN1
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIELYNN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I agree with the other viewers as far as cutting back on the oil and adding baking powder. I added 1 c of oil and 1 tsp of baking powder and it came out great. I also decreased the walnuts to 1/2c and added 1/4c of flax seed. It turned out very moist and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Loved this recipe! Very easy. I made it in a Bunt pan and made a glaze of 1/2 a stick of butter melted and powdered sugar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I'd never made carrot cake before and this was super easy and delicious! I was a little freaked out when I saw how oily the batter looked, but I guess that's just how carrot cake batter looks because it turned out perfectly. I didn't want to mess with the recipe my first time around, so I did it exactly as written, but made cupcakes instead of a whole cake. The recipe made 2 dozen cupcakes which I baked at 350 for 30 minutes. I served them up to my book club that evening and they devoured them all, while giving me lots of compliments on them. (I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe on this site by Janni which was delicious, but made so much frosting that I had enough left over to make another cake or set of cupcakes! Gonna do that tonight! Yum yum yum!) UPDATE: To use up the rest of the frosting, I made a cake tonight in a bundt (tube) pan. I changed it up this time though, just for fun. I did 3/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. applesauce; added 1 tsp. nutmeg and a tiny bit of ginger; and cut down on the walnuts a little bit while adding about 1 cup of raisins. It had to bake the full 1 hour 20 minutes like the recipe says. It turned out just as yummy as the first time I made it! Seems like you can't mess this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My whole family enjoyed this cake. My husband ate more than his fair share! I modified this recipe by adding raisins. Next time I make, I will add more cream cheese to the frosting and a bit less sugar. It was too sweet in my opionion. Other than that, it was one of the best carrot cakes I have eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is an outstanding cake recipe! I made it for my dad and he had to have another piece (so did I)! The one thing I disagree with is the putting the frosting on early and that doesn't affect the taste! This is a divine cake for any occasion at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flourpuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used this recipe as a Gluten Free recipe by substituting GF flour for the regular. It turned out great! The party goers actually preferred my GF version over the regular one I made as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chorusgirl3
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this to use up some carrots and it turned out pretty well. I added a teaspoon of baking powder like most the people suggested and it came out great. There is a lot of oil for my taste and I remember a trick my mother would use when making carrot cake and that is to substitute apple sauce for the oil and that cuts the calories in half (or more) I'll have to try it that way next time I make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorusgirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Pretty darned tasty! I used maybe ½ tsp cinnamon (allergies in the house) and I added a few shakes of nutmeg to make up for it. I also used only 1 cup of oil. I used more like 3-½ cups of carrots; and, as suggested by other reviewers, I used Cream Cheese Frosting II. It was fabulous and moist and gone in two days! Oh, and it took around 45 minutes at 350 for a 9x13 pan. Thanks for sharing, Autumn/Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States