Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This cake is the easiest and the moistest. I love it. I get raves every time I make it. I do not use nuts or rasins. As for the frosting, I make mine a little different so I cannot comment on that portion of the recipe. This is a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used some squash in addition to the carrots, super yummy. Very moist. I had to copy the recipe down for a coworker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups in the cake and 2 cups in the cream cheese frosting. Still very sweet; I may even just use 1.5 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting next time. Also, instead of baking the walnuts into the cake, I sprinkled a layer on top of the frosting in between my two cake layers and then sprinkled another layer on top. It was very pretty and you could taste the walnuts and the texture better than if it were baked in the cake. If you're at high-altitude, I recommend you use only 3 eggs (if you like a super moist cake and don't want to risk a collapsing cake) and keep the oil at 1.5 cups (even though other reviewers recommend reducing it). The batter will seem gelatinous, but it will bake up super moist and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was my first carrot cake I've ever made. It was DELICIOUS!!! yum! I didn't make my own frosting though, I cheated and used cream cheese frosting from the can, but is still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was fantastic. I made it for my husbands birthday and both him and my father claimed it was the best Carrot Cake they have ever had. I was out of vegetable oil so I use EVOO instead, and I only used one cup but it turned out perfectly moist. I also doubled the frosting recipe and made it a layer cake. Instead of using 6oz of cream cheese I used 8oz. I am about to make it again tonight, but I am going to make cupcakes instead! I also found a recipe for cream cheese frosting that uses 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 mascarpone so I am going give that a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aennis12
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Best carrot cake ever! I actually doubled the frosting recipe and used 8 oz of cream cheese. There was a bit too much confectioner's sugar so that is why I added the last 2 oz of cream cheese so keep it tasting like cream cheese and not sugar. I left out the nuts and used them as decorations up the side of the cake. Overall...AWESOME, MOIST CARROT CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very moist and flavorful, just added pineapple chunks, fresh grated ginger, and shredded coconut with a cream cheese topping with toasted coconut flakes with butter and brown sugar. People loved it!!!! Very easy to make, just for fullnes beat eggs until fluffy, then add the rest of the ingredients. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I had never made carrot cake from scratch before, as I am not a fan of it, but OH MY WORD! this is a great recipe! I, too reduced the oil to 1 c and added 2 t of baking powder and a handful of raisins. I baked it in two 8 inch pans, and it overflowed a bit, but turned out so yummy! Used the Cream Cheese II frosting as well. I am converted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent- I did as many suggested- cut the sugar and oil in half. Perfect! My husband even liked it- he was hesitant to even try it because it had carrots in it, but then ate his fair share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
great cake, i did only 35 minutes in two round pans and that was almost too much; i just used the yummy cream cheese frosting II from this site instead of the one listed on this recipe, the only thing i added to that frosting as a change was 1/4th cup heavy whipping cream, so great :) alli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States