Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by cheeksv
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this cake for my mothers 65th birthday/ Easter dinner. It turned out moist and delicious. I used cream cheese frosting II because so many people suggested it. Very good! I also love this recipe because you can add almost anything. I added ripe apples and figs along with the carrots. I also added nutmeg. Follow the suggestions they helped a lot but otherwise this cake was easy and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheeksv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Too much oil!!!!!!! Very oily and not alot of flavor. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I was surprised, that with all the seemingly positive reviews, I had to change so much of the recipe in order to get a decent cake... What I ended up with was a five-star cake, but as there were so many changes I had to make, I could not call this a five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good cake although I changed some things: Used whole grain flour (to feel less guilty), 2 teaspoons of baking soda instead of one, no vegetable oil (disgusting), 1 cup of butter and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. It came out DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This cake was perfect! Very moist and simple. I don't really like pineapple and coconut in my carrot cake - just carrots! I baked it in a 9 x 13" pan at 340 degrees for about 1 hour 15 minutes. Poured it in the pan, sprinkled 1/2 cup walnuts over 1/2 of the cake and mixed them in a bit (most of my family does not like nuts). Perfect! (I did use the Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site like another person suggested. Very good!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This cake was fantastically delicious! I used less powdered sugar than the frosting part of the recipe called for, because I didn't want it to be too sickly sweet, and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Llike shop brought cake!!! Lovely and moist. Even hubby liked it(and he does't like carrot cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! This is the best cake I have EVER put in my mouth! I didn't change much.. only used 1 cup of oil and added some raisins but other than that this is a PERFECT recipe!! I have never liked carrot cake but please can someone hide this because I am on piece number 3 and honestly could eat more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made it without the icing in a bunt cake mold and yet it turned out very well and the family loved it. Thanks Autumn/Fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Moist and delicious! My whole family loved it. My son wanted it for breakfast the next morning. Next time, I will try to cut the vegetable oil with apple sauce. The frosting was excellent as well. It was the first time I use heavy whipping cream and it gave the frosting a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Ferland

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States