Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
One of my best friends, and my husband, both have birthdays in February and they both love carrot cake. Somehow I lost the recipe I have used for years and decided to look on All Recipes to see what I could find. They both wanted it kept simple and no nuts...this cake was very moist and flavorful. I did however, add a tsp. of baking powder suggested by others and a 1/4 tsp. Allspice. ( I did not use the frosting recipe listed with the recipe. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
A first for me. I was pleased with how it turned out. A little surprised, though, at the amount of oil in the recipe. I love it and will make it again, but I'll try changing it up to make it a more healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very moist cake - would recommend. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp allspice as I like a bit more spice in my carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scully

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My daughter and made this for a gift! We were dying to taste it and our special person loved it! It was gone in hours:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I wish I could give it more stars... I made a couple of changes. Only used 1 cup of vegetable oil, added 1 tsp of baking powder and took OUT the walnuts. (yuck). As for the frosting I used a recipe on here called Cream Cheese Frosting II... it turned out amazing!!!! I brought it to work the next day and my co-workers see me as some Betty Crocker of sorts... I told them that I'm kind of a big deal around here. hahahahaha. JK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could! It was a huge hit! In order to make it more carrot-y, I add about a cup more carrots and it really helped in making it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made this almost as written. I did exchange 1/2 the oil with applesauce, (Had to use regular as out of unsweetened, made no difference.) This was amazingly good. I made the frosting with half and half instead of the heavy whipping cream and it was fabulous too. It seemed to make a lot more than the cake really needed, but was oh so good to catch the drips. The only thing different I'll do is add an additional cup of carrots because we really like a lot of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This cake was pretty tasty overall but I would definitely not cook it the 1 hr 20 minutes - I might say shorten it a bit. I've also read some other reviews and noticed some nice suggestions to better improve the recipe. I also probably would not put 1 cup of chopped walnuts but maybe 3/4 cup but that's my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I wanted to surprise my friend with her favorite cake and boy did I do just that! It was a great recipe, but I followed the advice of a couple other chefs here and cut the oil to 1 cup and added 1 tsp of baking powder. Since I like my cake with a little spice, I added an extra tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also went with the Cream Cheese Frosting II, but I cut that recipe down significantly since our family doesn't like a lot of frosting; it ended up being light like cinnamon rolls and it was just the right amount. We also used whole wheat flour and organic sugar cane with the cake, and it turned out with just the right texture. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States