Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Pretty darned tasty! I used maybe ½ tsp cinnamon (allergies in the house) and I added a few shakes of nutmeg to make up for it. I also used only 1 cup of oil. I used more like 3-½ cups of carrots; and, as suggested by other reviewers, I used Cream Cheese Frosting II. It was fabulous and moist and gone in two days! Oh, and it took around 45 minutes at 350 for a 9x13 pan. Thanks for sharing, Autumn/Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
love this in combination w/creamcheese frostingII by janni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I think this is a fab cake! I have made it twice in cupcake form. Just so you know to anyone who didn't try the frosting it isn't too sweet. Its very delicate tasting. I prefer it to the other recipes that have butter. Plus I have seen some recipes that have 4 cups of powdered sugar to pkg of cream cheese. This came out perfect. I am currently researching recipes for a cupcakery I plan to open and I can tell you I will be using this one. I love nut and the first time I used pecans and walnuts and I put more in than what this said. The second time 2 days later my husband asked me to make it again but I didn't have any nuts so I diced up apple. Turned out beautiful both times. My husband is a sheriff and all his co-workers are my taste testers. They claimed this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
The cake was great, but only gave it four stars because of the cook time. I thought an hour and 20 minutes sounded like too long. I checked it at one hour, and it was completely done. My oven doesn't normally cook fast, so I will always shorten the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is the only recipe I will ever use again!!! Everyone loves it!!! I used a different recipe for cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Rowlett Zuccaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is by far the most moist and delicious (not to mention easy ) carrot cake I have ever had. I double the recipe and make a stacked 9 1/2 x 11 layer cake for big birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I have made it time and time again, it has become my default recipe for carrot cake. From the start, I followed the recommendations by TRindell (other than cutting down on the oil, I left that at the original recipe amount). I have made this in a bundt pan, as mini loaves, in two regular size loaf pans. I always use the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe, sometimes with the addition of pineapple. After making several carrot cake disasters, this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Undoubtedly the best carrot cake recipe ever! I add a little dash of ground cloves for a bit of spice! I have used pecans instead of walnuts from time to time. Last Thanksgiving I made the cakes a day ahead, placed them in Tupperware and traveled from Florida to Louisiana with them and made the frosting once there. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Good cake. I reduced the oil and sugar, and added a little more carrot, as well, the other tablespoon of backing powder as suggested. I also used a different frosting using Neufachatel cheese. It was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Filling cake, good consistancy. Remember to coat the walnuts and carrots lightly with flour to prevent sinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States