Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Way too sweet for a non-American. Will try this again with probably half the sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Everyone loved this cake. The cake has a great flavor to it and the cream cheese icing isn't overpowering with the addition of the cream and vanilla. I only made a few changes by substituting butter for the oil and added an egg to keep it moist (I prefer butter in my cakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I also used just 1 cup of oil. Also changed frosting to 2 pkg. cream cheese, 1 stick of butter, then 2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Much better frosting for this I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this cake but I have never made it according to the recipe for various reasons. I read the reviews and reduced the oil down to 1 cup (actually I am in Germany and do metric so 1/4 liter). And I add 1 tsp baking powder. It seems to work, I have never thought the cake was too heavy. I have trouble adding the right amount of carrots because I don't have a kitchen scale so I just guess. Everytime I am done though, I wish I'd added more carrots. There are two Cream Cheese II frosting recipes. I use the one that has tons of sugar. It is good with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband loves carrot cake so I made this for Thanksgiving. It turned out well. I used my own cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Not bad. I quite liked this one. I thought the frosting was far too sweet and hardly had any cream cheese taste to it, but I must admit, the cake itself cooked up perfectly and VERY moist. Tasted good too. I wish it told you how fine to grate the carrots, as I'm afraid I grated mine too fine as it was hard to taste. BUT I will make adjustments on future tries. My suggestion to you: Double the cream cheese on the frosting and taste as you mix to see if it's how you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is my first attempt at carrot cake. I did cut down the oil by 1/2cup and replaced with applesauce. Was one of the best carrot cakes I have ever had. Great recipe.I need look no further for another recipe.This is the carrot cake I will always bake. Use the cream Cheese Frosting resipe by Janni. It takes it to a whole new level of yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Changes: - Reduced oil to 1 cup - Added 3 tbsp of crushed/drained pineapple - Added a few shakes of ground nutmeg - Used "Cream Cheese Frosting II" instead Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This cake is the easiest and the moistest. I love it. I get raves every time I make it. I do not use nuts or rasins. As for the frosting, I make mine a little different so I cannot comment on that portion of the recipe. This is a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used some squash in addition to the carrots, super yummy. Very moist. I had to copy the recipe down for a coworker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States