Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I wanted to surprise my friend with her favorite cake and boy did I do just that! It was a great recipe, but I followed the advice of a couple other chefs here and cut the oil to 1 cup and added 1 tsp of baking powder. Since I like my cake with a little spice, I added an extra tsp of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. I also went with the Cream Cheese Frosting II, but I cut that recipe down significantly since our family doesn't like a lot of frosting; it ended up being light like cinnamon rolls and it was just the right amount. We also used whole wheat flour and organic sugar cane with the cake, and it turned out with just the right texture. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia Keppler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This is an excellent carrot cake! Dense, moist, and flavorful. Hubby raved about it 'til the end. I reduced the oil by 1/2 a cup, added 1/2 cup of natural applesauce, and omitted the walnuts, as neither of us like them. I used my Ninja to make the carrot really small (personal preference) instead of just grating. I opted to cook in a 9x13 pan at 340 for an hour. Next time I might add more cinnamon, but that's mostly because I like cinnamon and also to play with recipes, lol. The frosting is another story. I made the recipe version and quickly realized I'd just made a yummy glaze (probably great on a bundt/tube cake), but not a frosting, so I started over with the Cream Cheese II Frosting (minus 1 cup sugar), which was much better, especially when storing the whole thing in the 'fridge, which is how we like carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! I made these cupcakes for my Mum's birthday and they were a huge hit. The only thing I added was a dash of nutmeg to the batter & then topped the cupcake with cream cheese frosting. YUM! I'm sure I'll make this again... and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. I use 1 t baking powder in addition to the baking soda, 1 cup of plain applesauce and NO OIL are my only changes. My grandchildren LOVE it. We baked one on Saturday and my granddaughter was shocked that there were actual real carrots in the cake. She thought it was just the name of the cake. :-) I make my frosting by combing 1 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, 1 heaping teaspoon of vanilla and just a little over 2 cups of SIFTED confectioners sugar. Baked at 325 in dark cake pans for 35 minutes and it was perfect (gas oven). I always sprinkle chopped walnuts on top just to make it a little prettier. Try this cake, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this cake as a surprise for my mother, and she loved it, as did everyone else in my family! I did not have any heavy whipping cream on hand, so instead I used regular creamer. It seemed to work just as well! I have a nut allergy, so I also left out the walnuts, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Unbelieveable recipe! It turned out sooo good! Kids loved it and i have had a piece every night! :) Very easy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
GREAT! Moist and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This cake was delicious! I made it for my husband for father's day and he loved it! We also had other family and friends over and they loved it too! I too decreased the amount of oil to just 1 cup and only baked it for 30 minutes in two 9 inch pans. I also used the frosting from the cream cheese frosting II recipe and that was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
it was moist and had a slight amount of crunchy texture, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I do not like carrot cake: I just do not like vegetables in my desert. I made this for my husband's birthday, because it is his second favourite cake (the first being prune cake). And he loved it, his family loved it, and even I liked it a lot. The cake is moist and has nice flavour. I did the frosting as suggested in this recipe, because I preferred to use cream rather than butter. I used almost 1/2 cup heavy cream and one 8oz package of cream cheese. It gave me just enough frosting for a two-tier 9in cake. An excellent recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States