Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
love this in combination w/creamcheese frostingII by janni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I think this is a fab cake! I have made it twice in cupcake form. Just so you know to anyone who didn't try the frosting it isn't too sweet. Its very delicate tasting. I prefer it to the other recipes that have butter. Plus I have seen some recipes that have 4 cups of powdered sugar to pkg of cream cheese. This came out perfect. I am currently researching recipes for a cupcakery I plan to open and I can tell you I will be using this one. I love nut and the first time I used pecans and walnuts and I put more in than what this said. The second time 2 days later my husband asked me to make it again but I didn't have any nuts so I diced up apple. Turned out beautiful both times. My husband is a sheriff and all his co-workers are my taste testers. They claimed this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
The cake was great, but only gave it four stars because of the cook time. I thought an hour and 20 minutes sounded like too long. I checked it at one hour, and it was completely done. My oven doesn't normally cook fast, so I will always shorten the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This is the only recipe I will ever use again!!! Everyone loves it!!! I used a different recipe for cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Rowlett Zuccaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is by far the most moist and delicious (not to mention easy ) carrot cake I have ever had. I double the recipe and make a stacked 9 1/2 x 11 layer cake for big birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I have made it time and time again, it has become my default recipe for carrot cake. From the start, I followed the recommendations by TRindell (other than cutting down on the oil, I left that at the original recipe amount). I have made this in a bundt pan, as mini loaves, in two regular size loaf pans. I always use the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe, sometimes with the addition of pineapple. After making several carrot cake disasters, this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Undoubtedly the best carrot cake recipe ever! I add a little dash of ground cloves for a bit of spice! I have used pecans instead of walnuts from time to time. Last Thanksgiving I made the cakes a day ahead, placed them in Tupperware and traveled from Florida to Louisiana with them and made the frosting once there. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Good cake. I reduced the oil and sugar, and added a little more carrot, as well, the other tablespoon of backing powder as suggested. I also used a different frosting using Neufachatel cheese. It was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Filling cake, good consistancy. Remember to coat the walnuts and carrots lightly with flour to prevent sinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was one of the best carrot cakes I have ever tasted. I did make some adjustments to this recipe. I reduced the oil to just 1 cup. I added four four ounce jars of baby food carrots. I used the 1 pound bag shredded in my food processor and added 1 tsp of baking powder. I also doubled the cinnamon and added a half tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Middlesex, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States