Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Everyone loved this cake. The cake has a great flavor to it and the cream cheese icing isn't overpowering with the addition of the cream and vanilla. I only made a few changes by substituting butter for the oil and added an egg to keep it moist (I prefer butter in my cakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I also used just 1 cup of oil. Also changed frosting to 2 pkg. cream cheese, 1 stick of butter, then 2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Much better frosting for this I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love this cake but I have never made it according to the recipe for various reasons. I read the reviews and reduced the oil down to 1 cup (actually I am in Germany and do metric so 1/4 liter). And I add 1 tsp baking powder. It seems to work, I have never thought the cake was too heavy. I have trouble adding the right amount of carrots because I don't have a kitchen scale so I just guess. Everytime I am done though, I wish I'd added more carrots. There are two Cream Cheese II frosting recipes. I use the one that has tons of sugar. It is good with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband loves carrot cake so I made this for Thanksgiving. It turned out well. I used my own cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Not bad. I quite liked this one. I thought the frosting was far too sweet and hardly had any cream cheese taste to it, but I must admit, the cake itself cooked up perfectly and VERY moist. Tasted good too. I wish it told you how fine to grate the carrots, as I'm afraid I grated mine too fine as it was hard to taste. BUT I will make adjustments on future tries. My suggestion to you: Double the cream cheese on the frosting and taste as you mix to see if it's how you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is my first attempt at carrot cake. I did cut down the oil by 1/2cup and replaced with applesauce. Was one of the best carrot cakes I have ever had. Great recipe.I need look no further for another recipe.This is the carrot cake I will always bake. Use the cream Cheese Frosting resipe by Janni. It takes it to a whole new level of yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Changes: - Reduced oil to 1 cup - Added 3 tbsp of crushed/drained pineapple - Added a few shakes of ground nutmeg - Used "Cream Cheese Frosting II" instead Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This cake is the easiest and the moistest. I love it. I get raves every time I make it. I do not use nuts or rasins. As for the frosting, I make mine a little different so I cannot comment on that portion of the recipe. This is a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used some squash in addition to the carrots, super yummy. Very moist. I had to copy the recipe down for a coworker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups in the cake and 2 cups in the cream cheese frosting. Still very sweet; I may even just use 1.5 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting next time. Also, instead of baking the walnuts into the cake, I sprinkled a layer on top of the frosting in between my two cake layers and then sprinkled another layer on top. It was very pretty and you could taste the walnuts and the texture better than if it were baked in the cake. If you're at high-altitude, I recommend you use only 3 eggs (if you like a super moist cake and don't want to risk a collapsing cake) and keep the oil at 1.5 cups (even though other reviewers recommend reducing it). The batter will seem gelatinous, but it will bake up super moist and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianasaurusrex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States