Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I've never failed a recipe before, but I didn't like this one. Batter and cake had a strange, non-cake like texture. It was also dry. I substituted applesauce for half of the oil. Used coconut oil for the other half. It says it is done when it springs back, what about when it feels like a brick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was heavenly it was so moist and delicious I made a few changes. I didn't use any of the pineapple and I substitute take some of that oil for applesauce. Also the icing that I used was actually a cream cheese and sugar and vanilla blend. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
The best Carrot Cake ever! This is my sister and My favorite cupcakes. I have had too many compliments and requests for recipes to count! Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I baked this cake on the recommendation, and with the assistance, of a friend because it is a healthier option for a delicious treat. We substituted the sugar with just over 1 1/4 cups of honey and followed the recipe otherwise. It was DELICIOUS! While the cake is quite dense, as a carrot cake should be, it was also very moist without having an undue amount of oil present. I would highly recommend this cake based on taste alone, the fact that it is a healthier option is a lovely benefit! Give it a try, you will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
i also substituted pineapple for the coconut because i'm not a huge fan of coconut and it turned out delicious! It's kind of dense, but still very moist, so everyone ended up having smaller portions too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Really heavy but then again carrot cake is a heavy cake. Tasty. Probably one of the healthiest versions of carrot cake out there. I might modify it next time with added raisins and sugar substitute. This time I used olive oil and it was fine. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Easy to make. Taste really good! My kids keep asking me to make it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I didn't use any kind of icing with it because it was just sweet enough and the flavor was just right that it didn't need it. Yummy!! Has a more sophisticated flavor than regular cakes, so both the adults and the children enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherryTree

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Excellent and moist. I didn't even ice this as I made them into muffins. You can't tell this is made with whole wheat and wheat germ! The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars is the obscene amount of oil. I will try some of the other reviewers tips next time, but this is definetly my new carrot cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
LOVED THIS. Great alternative to fattier versions. made this with 1.5c white flour, .5c wheat, 1.5tspn baking powder, 1.5ts baking soda, 2.5 cinnamon, no salt, .5c wheat germ mixed with wheat bran, 1 1/4c sugar everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States