Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I added low-fat homemade cream cheese icing to keep it relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I love Carrot Cake! I have my own recipe that's a winner with friends and family, but I wanted to try it with whole wheat flour to see if I could tell a big difference in taste. Well, I tried this cake recipe (Carrot Cake X) minus the wheat germ this past weekend (9/19/04) and I loved it. Everyone who sampled a piece enjoyed it as well. The whole wheat flour gives the cake a nice texture, and it doesn't change the taste of the cake! This is definately a winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
this was good but a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
the best. i will never make a different carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Unfortunately I did not get to actually taste this recipe, BUT after sending it to work with my Hubby I got requests for more! I wanted to make this into a double layer cake so I added a quarter more of everything. To make this a bit healthier I subbed Unsweetened Applesauce for the Oil. ALSO, I did not have Wheat Germ so I substituted All Purpose Flour in its place. For no particular reason I also added a touch of Orange Juice. Hee hee! And to finish it off I frosted with homemade cream cheese icing. Hmmmm... Wish I had tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very very good! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Amazing! I followed recipe except healthier choices. I used splenda for the sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I only used half cream cheese frosting from one of the other carrot cake recipes. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good!! we added chocolate chips, plus subsituted applesauce for the oil. Chocked full of goodness! Everyone loved the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup (since applesauce is naturally sweeter than oil). I prefer to pre-cook my carrots, and added cream cheese frosting. Delicious! It doesn't even taste whole wheat. Next time I am going to try replacing the sugar with maple syrup to cut down even more on the processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States