Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I added low-fat homemade cream cheese icing to keep it relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I love Carrot Cake! I have my own recipe that's a winner with friends and family, but I wanted to try it with whole wheat flour to see if I could tell a big difference in taste. Well, I tried this cake recipe (Carrot Cake X) minus the wheat germ this past weekend (9/19/04) and I loved it. Everyone who sampled a piece enjoyed it as well. The whole wheat flour gives the cake a nice texture, and it doesn't change the taste of the cake! This is definately a winner in my book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
this was good but a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
the best. i will never make a different carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Unfortunately I did not get to actually taste this recipe, BUT after sending it to work with my Hubby I got requests for more! I wanted to make this into a double layer cake so I added a quarter more of everything. To make this a bit healthier I subbed Unsweetened Applesauce for the Oil. ALSO, I did not have Wheat Germ so I substituted All Purpose Flour in its place. For no particular reason I also added a touch of Orange Juice. Hee hee! And to finish it off I frosted with homemade cream cheese icing. Hmmmm... Wish I had tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very very good! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Amazing! I followed recipe except healthier choices. I used splenda for the sugar and apple sauce for the oil. I only used half cream cheese frosting from one of the other carrot cake recipes. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good!! we added chocolate chips, plus subsituted applesauce for the oil. Chocked full of goodness! Everyone loved the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup (since applesauce is naturally sweeter than oil). I prefer to pre-cook my carrots, and added cream cheese frosting. Delicious! It doesn't even taste whole wheat. Next time I am going to try replacing the sugar with maple syrup to cut down even more on the processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States