Carrot Cake X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Astounding! I, like everyone , made a few changes. I doubled this recipe and it actually made enough for a 3 layer cake! I used no wheat germ , but added 1 cup of applesauce, 1/4 c of orange juice , 1 c of golden raisins, and 4 small plastic containers of pureed carrot baby food! For spicing, I used, ginger, nutmeg , clove and cinnamon to taste.Deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Awesome - especially since it is make with whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to 1 cup and was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Cake was strange, nothing like any carrot cake that I had ever tasted. I made it for my son's birthday and he didn't like it...so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I thought this cake was very dry and did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good for being so healthy. Of course, it had a nice layer of cream cheese frosting too. I took suggestions from others and made the following modifications. * only 1 cup sugar * no oil * 1 cup unsweetened applesauce * closer to 3 cups carrots * coconut was sweetened (part of the reason I reduced the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This cake was a huge success and so easy to make! Every bite was so flavourful & moist! I highly recommend it BUT it requires a cream cheese icing to complete it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is what I was looking for! Had a great carrot cake at a little bistro with whole wheat, pineapple, nuts and so soft. This one does it. I will probably add a few more carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup (since applesauce is naturally sweeter than oil). I prefer to pre-cook my carrots, and added cream cheese frosting. Delicious! It doesn't even taste whole wheat. Next time I am going to try replacing the sugar with maple syrup to cut down even more on the processed ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is very good and you feel good eating it! I did change a few things. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, used only 3/4 c of sugar, replaced the coconut with raisins (I made this for my 1 yr olds b-day and he loves rasins :) ) and cut the nuts in half. He loved it and we did too. I did cheat and use the cream cheese frosting from Carrot Cake III from here. I had extra batter so I made muffins for my husbands breakfast. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good!! we added chocolate chips, plus subsituted applesauce for the oil. Chocked full of goodness! Everyone loved the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States