Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe GLUTEN FREE using Bob's Red Mill baking mix, and it was fantastic. I wasn't sure about the pineapple at first, but it proves to be a powerful surprise ingredient. Just wanted to let you guys know that the moisture in this recipe makes it great for translating to gluten free baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I actually only used the icing recipe here, and it was perfect with a few modifications. I'm using it for pumpkin cookies, so I left out lemon juice and peel and used about a teaspoon of vanilla extract + TWO packages of cream cheese. It took all I had not to sit down with the bowl and eat it straight. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzycat30
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I searched forever trying to find the perfect cake, decided on this one based off reviews & am so happy I did, HUGE HIT, everyone who has tried it has loved it. I did cut the sugar in the frosting to 1 1/2 cups as mentioned and I decided to make it a 3 layer cake (8 inches) & baked for approx 30-40 mins, came out perfect, moist & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i actually only use the icing in this recipe, and use a different cake recipe, it is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe word for word. First of all, it stuck to my pans. Once I finally got it out, it was a little too sweet for me and really had no flavor at all. The icing was a basic cream cheese icing, so it was good....hence the ONE star...but the cake was bland and boring. I will NOT make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've only tried the icing so far, but it was terriffic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It was very good...the lemon cream cheese icing was different compared to other carrot cakes. I took it to a family reunion and everyone loved it...there was none left to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I wish I could rate the cake and icing separately. The icing is..... AWESOME! The tiny bit of lemon puts it over the edge. The cake.... not so much. I made exactly as instructed. It was very very moist and beautiful but it really was tasteless. It's not bad, it's just not good. The icing is 5 stars for sure, but the cake is 3 stars at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! I did add an extra 1/4 c of flour because the batter looked to soupy. This made the cake more fluffy than dense as the picture shows it to be. I took this to a picnic and everyone asked for seconds--there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
i tried the icing and it was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States