Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I did not use this recipe for the cake but I did use the recipe for the cream cheese frosting. We didn't like it. BUT, I will say this. In trying to cut our some fat/calories I used fat free cream cheese and I think that was probably the problem. So, I would recommend following the exact ingredients in case it was because of using the fat free stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
good... i only used it for the icing and that alone is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little ed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I totally loved it, THOUGH: I put more cinnamon (2-3 tbsp and put less sugar in the icing + it was the vanilla one) and it came out perfect! Those changes really make a difference. I've been making this cake for quite a while now, and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was the best Carrot Cake I have ever had! Followed the recipe exactly and it came out awesome, took it with us on Christmas Day to my Sister-inlaws house and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Didn't use pineapple. Turned out fine. (maybe a little oily). Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe GLUTEN FREE using Bob's Red Mill baking mix, and it was fantastic. I wasn't sure about the pineapple at first, but it proves to be a powerful surprise ingredient. Just wanted to let you guys know that the moisture in this recipe makes it great for translating to gluten free baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I actually only used the icing recipe here, and it was perfect with a few modifications. I'm using it for pumpkin cookies, so I left out lemon juice and peel and used about a teaspoon of vanilla extract + TWO packages of cream cheese. It took all I had not to sit down with the bowl and eat it straight. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzycat30
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I searched forever trying to find the perfect cake, decided on this one based off reviews & am so happy I did, HUGE HIT, everyone who has tried it has loved it. I did cut the sugar in the frosting to 1 1/2 cups as mentioned and I decided to make it a 3 layer cake (8 inches) & baked for approx 30-40 mins, came out perfect, moist & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i actually only use the icing in this recipe, and use a different cake recipe, it is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe word for word. First of all, it stuck to my pans. Once I finally got it out, it was a little too sweet for me and really had no flavor at all. The icing was a basic cream cheese icing, so it was good....hence the ONE star...but the cake was bland and boring. I will NOT make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States