Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Wonderful, moist cake - the only changes I made was that I omitted the nuts and instead added raisins that I had soaked in the drained off pinapple juice. I also added some applesauce to the oil to cut down on the amount of oil. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valery Lucien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is the best carrot cake recipe I have ever tried. My boyfriend, who does not care much for desserts, loved it! I made it around the holidays and he asks me every couple of weeks when I'm going to bake another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great carrot cake and love a cake with pineapple.. it gives it a really nice flavor. NOTE: Magic baking powder is available in Canada and not the US. I believe you can go online to order it, but I used regular baking powder in this recipe and had no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Ok you have to try this for the icing. Omit the lemon and peel. Add the pineapple juice that you drained from the can of crushed pineapple. FAB FAB FAB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Metivier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Philadelphia will love this... I only used the icing as a quick save to some crestfallen muffins. I scaled it down to do the few muffins I had, and it was a worthy save.Everyone thought that's how I MEANT for them to look and taste. Yea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was awesome!!! All my german friends loved it and I´ve even been asked to translate the recepie to german :-). Thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomiLemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bielefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
So far I've made this Carrot Cake 3 times and everyone has raved about it... making me a complete star in the kitchen!! I did take some suggestions from other recipes. For example I divided the sugar (1 cup white and 1 cup dark brown instead of 2 c. of all white sugar) and used slightly less crushed pineapple. I'm going to make it again tomorrow but use a total of 3/4 c. canola oil and 1/4 c. chunky applesauce instead of the 1 1/4 c. oil. I'm going to increase the cinnamon to 2 t. For the icing I will use only use 2 c. confectioner's sugar and no lemon. But I will add 1/4 c. chopped pecans. I really love Carrot Cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Great flavor and texture, spices just right and lemon juice and zest in icing perfect. I reduced the sugar by a half cup and added one-quarter cup sweetened shredded coconut. I also added 1 cup raisins microwaved for three minutes in two cups water with orange extract and sugar and then drained. Recipe exactly filled a 9*13 cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
this was such a great recipe, we ended up not even putting the icing on and it was still the best carrot cake we ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Made this for my husbands birthday party. It was so moist and delicious. It was easy to make and everyone kept eating it, so I knew they meant it. I did not put in cloves since they were so spendy I used a little allspice. I also used a glass baking dish. Got rave reviews at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States