Carrot Cake with PHILLY Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this recipe GLUTEN FREE using Bob's Red Mill baking mix, and it was fantastic. I wasn't sure about the pineapple at first, but it proves to be a powerful surprise ingredient. Just wanted to let you guys know that the moisture in this recipe makes it great for translating to gluten free baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I actually only used the icing recipe here, and it was perfect with a few modifications. I'm using it for pumpkin cookies, so I left out lemon juice and peel and used about a teaspoon of vanilla extract + TWO packages of cream cheese. It took all I had not to sit down with the bowl and eat it straight. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fuzzycat30
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I searched forever trying to find the perfect cake, decided on this one based off reviews & am so happy I did, HUGE HIT, everyone who has tried it has loved it. I did cut the sugar in the frosting to 1 1/2 cups as mentioned and I decided to make it a 3 layer cake (8 inches) & baked for approx 30-40 mins, came out perfect, moist & yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i actually only use the icing in this recipe, and use a different cake recipe, it is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed this recipe word for word. First of all, it stuck to my pans. Once I finally got it out, it was a little too sweet for me and really had no flavor at all. The icing was a basic cream cheese icing, so it was good....hence the ONE star...but the cake was bland and boring. I will NOT make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I've only tried the icing so far, but it was terriffic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It was very good...the lemon cream cheese icing was different compared to other carrot cakes. I took it to a family reunion and everyone loved it...there was none left to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I wish I could rate the cake and icing separately. The icing is..... AWESOME! The tiny bit of lemon puts it over the edge. The cake.... not so much. I made exactly as instructed. It was very very moist and beautiful but it really was tasteless. It's not bad, it's just not good. The icing is 5 stars for sure, but the cake is 3 stars at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! I did add an extra 1/4 c of flour because the batter looked to soupy. This made the cake more fluffy than dense as the picture shows it to be. I took this to a picnic and everyone asked for seconds--there was nothing left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
i tried the icing and it was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States