Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I brought this cake to my family reunion and got a ton of compliments! I didn't have any raisins, so I left those out, and I used peach-mango applesauce, because that's what I had. I also used Pilsbury Cream Cheese icing because I was afraid I'd screw up the icing. It was so very moist. Probably the best carrot cake I've ever had. My grandmother is a baker and was saying that this should be my specialty! My husbands family reunion is next week-end and I'll be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I liked this cake. It was very dense. The frosting was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia-Beth
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The icing really was the best part!! The orange was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
We thought this cake was fabulous. I made these alterations: I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup whole wheat flour, and this seemed to make the cake more dense--something I really liked. Also, I used low-fat cream cheese for the icing. Since this made the icing rather thin, I refrigerated the cake after frosting it, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is one of the best carrot cake recipes I've ever tried. I think this will be my "usual" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I loved the combination of the walnuts, raisins, pineapple, and coconut. However, I thought that the cake itself was a little dry and not sweet enough for my liking. All in all, it was a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Just an average carrot cake, the icing was much better than average. One of my 4 yr. olds liked it and the other didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
very good cake with all the goodies a carrot cake should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States