Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this cake for my son's first birthday and it was such a huge hit! All the kids and grown ups loved it. I made the lettering with the icing colored with forest black berries because I did not want to use any artificial colorings and it looked fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieshka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Outstanding recipe, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
My husband really enjoyed this recipe. I like it as well, although it was very time consuming to make. (Hand grating the carrots, etc.) When I'm in the mood to bake and have the time to take to make this, I will definitely make again. I loved the frosting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
What a great carrot cake! I made this cake for a wedding aniversary for a couple who had carrot cake for their wedding. They loved the texture with all of the extra ingredients (coconut, pineapple, raisins, walnuts). I too used a mix of whole wheat and white flour, as well as ground flax seed. I needed to thicken the frosting as I made a pan cake rather than a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used my own pumpkin pie spice: equal parts of ground ginger, ground cloves, ground nutmeg and cinnamon. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprldwn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum! I made this recipe for Thanksgiving at the in-laws. I made a few substitutions based on what I like. Such as pumpkin for applesauce and pecans for walnuts. It turned out great! Very moist. I have to admit I like it better with butter than frosting, but I made the Cream Cheese Frosting II (half the sugar) and so far everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good! I omitted the orange in the frosting and substituted 2 tsp. vanilla extract. It worked great. One thing I would change,though. Instead of calling for "1 pound of carrots" I would just put "3 cups grated carrots" instead. I like to simplify whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I brought this cake to my family reunion and got a ton of compliments! I didn't have any raisins, so I left those out, and I used peach-mango applesauce, because that's what I had. I also used Pilsbury Cream Cheese icing because I was afraid I'd screw up the icing. It was so very moist. Probably the best carrot cake I've ever had. My grandmother is a baker and was saying that this should be my specialty! My husbands family reunion is next week-end and I'll be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I liked this cake. It was very dense. The frosting was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia-Beth
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The icing really was the best part!! The orange was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States