Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good! I omitted the orange in the frosting and substituted 2 tsp. vanilla extract. It worked great. One thing I would change,though. Instead of calling for "1 pound of carrots" I would just put "3 cups grated carrots" instead. I like to simplify whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
We thought this cake was fabulous. I made these alterations: I used two cups all purpose flour and one cup whole wheat flour, and this seemed to make the cake more dense--something I really liked. Also, I used low-fat cream cheese for the icing. Since this made the icing rather thin, I refrigerated the cake after frosting it, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm stingy with 5 star ratings, but this cake deserves it! I made the batter exactly as listed except for the pumpkin pie spice. Didn't have any, and based off of a recipe for pumpkin pie spice on this site (seriously!), I mixed into a small container 3/4 tsp each of ginger, cloves, nutmeg and about 2 tsp cinnamon. Mixed together and it was just about perfect for 1.5 tbl of pumpkin pie spice. PLEASE NOTE I baked this carrot cake in TWO 9" WILTON ROUND PANS, not a Bundt pan. If you choose to do this too, the baking time will be *approximately* 30 minutes. ALSO NOTE that there is too much batter for two standard 9" pans. I placed 3 cups of batter into each pan, spread evenly and it was about 3/4 full. It turned out to be the perfect amount as the cake doesn't rise much. There was enough batter left over for 4 cupcakes, which I baked for about 20-22 minutes. Before baking in the pans and the paper cup liners, I sprayed with cooking spray, but didn't bother with flouring. I had no problems getting my cakes out of the pans after they had cooled on racks. I had my doubts over the coconut and pineapple in carrot cake, but I couldn't even taste the pineapple and the coconut seemed to give it that decadent bakery flavor. This was a dense cake, moist, and just delish. It could definitely pass for a professional bakery cake. I paired it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site. I made this on Saturday for Easter dinner. Not sure if making it a day before helped i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is one of the best carrot cake recipes I've ever tried. I think this will be my "usual" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I loved the combination of the walnuts, raisins, pineapple, and coconut. However, I thought that the cake itself was a little dry and not sweet enough for my liking. All in all, it was a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprldwn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum! I made this recipe for Thanksgiving at the in-laws. I made a few substitutions based on what I like. Such as pumpkin for applesauce and pecans for walnuts. It turned out great! Very moist. I have to admit I like it better with butter than frosting, but I made the Cream Cheese Frosting II (half the sugar) and so far everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia-Beth
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The icing really was the best part!! The orange was so refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I brought this cake to my family reunion and got a ton of compliments! I didn't have any raisins, so I left those out, and I used peach-mango applesauce, because that's what I had. I also used Pilsbury Cream Cheese icing because I was afraid I'd screw up the icing. It was so very moist. Probably the best carrot cake I've ever had. My grandmother is a baker and was saying that this should be my specialty! My husbands family reunion is next week-end and I'll be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Just an average carrot cake, the icing was much better than average. One of my 4 yr. olds liked it and the other didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is fantastic! I made it for Christmas day. I changed the raisins to golden raisins and left out the nuts, everything else was as directed. It was so moist and delicious. The frosting was superb. It tastes even better the next day. a note; when working with baking soda as an ingredient you must mix only enough to moisten the dry ingredients, fold in the remaining raisins, coconut, and walnuts then quickly fill your cake pans. Mixing to long will result in less rise in the oven and a dense cake. Thank you Anra Lee this is heavenly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States