Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
i made this for my husbands birthday and was a little nervous for the first time making any cake from scratch. everyone loved it and i followed the recipe exactly! will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was fantastic!! My family loved this! I left out the coconut because I wasn't sure about coconut in my carrot cake, and also my mom isn't a big fan of coconut. The cake was moist and the icing was great-different than the norm, a nice change! I also baked this in a 13x9 pyrex. Baking time was approximately 50 minutes. It came out perfect!! Definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daymora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm stingy with 5 star ratings, but this cake deserves it! I made the batter exactly as listed except for the pumpkin pie spice. Didn't have any, and based off of a recipe for pumpkin pie spice on this site (seriously!), I mixed into a small container 3/4 tsp each of ginger, cloves, nutmeg and about 2 tsp cinnamon. Mixed together and it was just about perfect for 1.5 tbl of pumpkin pie spice. PLEASE NOTE I baked this carrot cake in TWO 9" WILTON ROUND PANS, not a Bundt pan. If you choose to do this too, the baking time will be *approximately* 30 minutes. ALSO NOTE that there is too much batter for two standard 9" pans. I placed 3 cups of batter into each pan, spread evenly and it was about 3/4 full. It turned out to be the perfect amount as the cake doesn't rise much. There was enough batter left over for 4 cupcakes, which I baked for about 20-22 minutes. Before baking in the pans and the paper cup liners, I sprayed with cooking spray, but didn't bother with flouring. I had no problems getting my cakes out of the pans after they had cooled on racks. I had my doubts over the coconut and pineapple in carrot cake, but I couldn't even taste the pineapple and the coconut seemed to give it that decadent bakery flavor. This was a dense cake, moist, and just delish. It could definitely pass for a professional bakery cake. I paired it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site. I made this on Saturday for Easter dinner. Not sure if making it a day before helped i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this cake for my son's first birthday and it was such a huge hit! All the kids and grown ups loved it. I made the lettering with the icing colored with forest black berries because I did not want to use any artificial colorings and it looked fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnieshka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Outstanding recipe, beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
My husband really enjoyed this recipe. I like it as well, although it was very time consuming to make. (Hand grating the carrots, etc.) When I'm in the mood to bake and have the time to take to make this, I will definitely make again. I loved the frosting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
What a great carrot cake! I made this cake for a wedding aniversary for a couple who had carrot cake for their wedding. They loved the texture with all of the extra ingredients (coconut, pineapple, raisins, walnuts). I too used a mix of whole wheat and white flour, as well as ground flax seed. I needed to thicken the frosting as I made a pan cake rather than a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used my own pumpkin pie spice: equal parts of ground ginger, ground cloves, ground nutmeg and cinnamon. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aprldwn
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum! I made this recipe for Thanksgiving at the in-laws. I made a few substitutions based on what I like. Such as pumpkin for applesauce and pecans for walnuts. It turned out great! Very moist. I have to admit I like it better with butter than frosting, but I made the Cream Cheese Frosting II (half the sugar) and so far everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very good! I omitted the orange in the frosting and substituted 2 tsp. vanilla extract. It worked great. One thing I would change,though. Instead of calling for "1 pound of carrots" I would just put "3 cups grated carrots" instead. I like to simplify whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States