Carrot Cake VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Huge hit for Christmas! I used whole wheat pastry flour and the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe on this site. Fabulously dense, moist and got raves from the family and made a nice presentation in the bundt format. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I cooked this cake for thanksgiving, to add a little twist to tradition, and my family LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was the BEST carrot cake I have EVER had! And I love carrot cake. Very moist and great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is the best Carrot Cake I have ever tasted. It is moist, sweet and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The cake is very good, with loads of everything. I like to work with raw ingredients. I think the only flaw is that the recipe omits to mention one should sift the flour. Nobody really does anymore, but air is as important an ingredient to a good cake as anything, just as adding water to anything should include filtering the water first. A recipe is only is as good as the ingredients and this cake has many good ingredients. Add air and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made it, but it doesn't taste like carrot, it tastes to anything, less to carrot! I'd like to make a carrot cake, puffy and not like a block of concrete! it seems made from left over bread. Not good to be recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
i made this for my husbands birthday and was a little nervous for the first time making any cake from scratch. everyone loved it and i followed the recipe exactly! will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was fantastic!! My family loved this! I left out the coconut because I wasn't sure about coconut in my carrot cake, and also my mom isn't a big fan of coconut. The cake was moist and the icing was great-different than the norm, a nice change! I also baked this in a 13x9 pyrex. Baking time was approximately 50 minutes. It came out perfect!! Definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daymora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm stingy with 5 star ratings, but this cake deserves it! I made the batter exactly as listed except for the pumpkin pie spice. Didn't have any, and based off of a recipe for pumpkin pie spice on this site (seriously!), I mixed into a small container 3/4 tsp each of ginger, cloves, nutmeg and about 2 tsp cinnamon. Mixed together and it was just about perfect for 1.5 tbl of pumpkin pie spice. PLEASE NOTE I baked this carrot cake in TWO 9" WILTON ROUND PANS, not a Bundt pan. If you choose to do this too, the baking time will be *approximately* 30 minutes. ALSO NOTE that there is too much batter for two standard 9" pans. I placed 3 cups of batter into each pan, spread evenly and it was about 3/4 full. It turned out to be the perfect amount as the cake doesn't rise much. There was enough batter left over for 4 cupcakes, which I baked for about 20-22 minutes. Before baking in the pans and the paper cup liners, I sprayed with cooking spray, but didn't bother with flouring. I had no problems getting my cakes out of the pans after they had cooled on racks. I had my doubts over the coconut and pineapple in carrot cake, but I couldn't even taste the pineapple and the coconut seemed to give it that decadent bakery flavor. This was a dense cake, moist, and just delish. It could definitely pass for a professional bakery cake. I paired it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site. I made this on Saturday for Easter dinner. Not sure if making it a day before helped i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States