Carrot Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Amazing but true....I am VERY picky about the recipes I try. If they are not great the first time, I will never try them again -- and they have to be easy to throw together. I would never have attempted this one if it were not rated so highly! WELL WORTH IT. Can you believe that such a cake has no eggs, no oil, and still tastes terrific!. Note: I measured my 2-grated carrots (because carrot sizes vary so much), and it came to 2 cups lightly packed. --Louise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
I choose this recipe because of the really low fat content. However, instead of chopped walnut I grind the walnuts into almost powder in a food processor to throw them in with the dry ingredients. In addition, I substitute cloves for allspice. Turn out that this is one of the most delicious carrot cake. The fact that we have to precook the carrots, and the natural oil from the ground up walnuts works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
So flavourful and so easy to fix. Not at all the kind of carrot cake I expected, but delicious. Texture makes it rather bread than cake, but it's really great. Taste reminds gingerbread (in my opinion). If you're looking for a tasty, easy-to-make and healthy snack, don't look further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
If you check my profile out you'll realise I'm not the best cook so when absolutely everyone loved it inluding my parents, friends at school and me! I love the spice mix. I'm subsituting it again in a cookie mixture. Also I grated the carrot very very fine so the cake was extremely moist. I'm always rough with proportions so I was very happy with the end result even though I didn't follow it exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Best Carrot cake I have ever made. Its so easy and tastes so good. I make it every other weekend for my 2 year old who is a big cake eater. I substitutes 2 cups AP flour with 1 cup AP flour and 1 cup wheat flour and i don't use the nuts as my son doesn't like nuts in cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This is the best little spice cake! Heating the spices with the carrots and raisins gives the cake an even texture and keeps it very moist. I followed the suggestion of grinding the walnuts, and was so pleased. The nut taste is in every crumb! Thanks for passing this one on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I wish I could give this 6 stars! You will not believe how good it is. And it has no eggs and just 2 tsp. of butter! Every bite is full of raisin-walnut-spice deliciousness! Be aware of the baking time though. At about 45 min the top will start getting burned. Also, in my opinion, 1 tsp. of cloves was too much, it overshadows the other flavors. Same goes for the nutmeg. I would go with 1/2 tsp. of cloves and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg. I added 1 tsp. of ground ginger, it's a good combination with the carrots. And perhaps if you don't like a too sweet cake you could cut back on the sugar a bit because the raisins keep it sweet enough. I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 1 tsp. of baking powder because I was afraid 2 tsp. of baking soda would affect the taste.... Those are my suggestions, but even exactly as it is written it is excellent. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Hi Erma This is indeed excellent carrot cake. I looked high and low for a recipe that used a fraction of the oil that most recipes called for. I agree with another reviewer that it is more like quick bread, but never-the-less it is excellent. Moist, tender, flavorful. That being said, I made a couple of changes for my preferences: doubled the spices; decreased baking soda to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp baking powder. Also added crushed pineapple and used the juice to make up some of the liquid. Decreased sugar to 1 cup: half brown and half white (Whey-Low). Used 2 cups grated carrots. What a great recipe. Cooking all the fruit and veggies for a few minutes has to be the secret to the moistness. I let it cool thoroughly before baking. Baked in an 11x7 baking dish to make a single layer to cut into squares for lunch boxes. My family was in heaven. I bet it will be better in a couple of days--if it lasts that long. thank you so much Judy in WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
It didn't take nearly as long to bake as the recipe said, but it was still really good. I frosted it with cream cheese frosting, and covered the sides in slivered almonds. It looked like a baby carrot cake loaf, it was cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This was delicious fresh from the oven and with butter after coming out of the fridge. I used a glass loaf pan and forgot to decrease the temp by 25 degrees...beware! It got a little too done on the bottom because of this. I also found it really sticky when slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States