Carrot Cake Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This recipe was very simple. After I topped the oatmeal with the pecan mixture in our bowls, we just poured a little cold fat free evaporated milk over the top and ate it like that, instead of yogurt. We loved it. For us, there were no leftovers. Between my two boys and I, we ate every little bit. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Wow - this is really good and very filling! This makes a lot so you'll definitely have enough leftover for future mornings. But, if you like carrot cake that won't be a problem! I cut back on the ginger and added some vanilla. I used a combination of walnuts and pecans, plus since I like things a bit sweeter I used vanilla yogurt vs. plain yogurt. I may add a little crushed pineapple to the reheated oatmeal for even more of a "carrot cake" taste and to up the sweet factor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
What a great idea! So Yummy. I didn't have steel cut oats, so I cooked all the ingredients except the oats, until soft, then added quaker oats and cooked for the time listed on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Steel-cut oats are great for a big batch that lasts all week. Usually I make mine plain and 'accessorize' by the bowl. A whole batch of one flavor is a big commitment! Thankfully I love carrot cake. The flavor is pretty good - with the yogurt, you really get a carrot cake essence for breakfast. This is not at all a sweet oatmeal - not like how most people enjoy a packet of instant oatmeal. I suspect many will add sugar (or sweetened yogurt?) to the final dish. And I personally will use half as much nutmeg next time - it was overpowering to me (and possibly increase the carrots). But overall a great change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Yummy!! Used my Zojirushi rice cooker and put everything in up to the pecans. Delish and easy for my family who eat breakfast at different times of the day. Family ate it all the first day, but should keep in your cooker for at least 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I like it..I didn't have any carrots so used little pumpkin & had no apples so I used applesauce. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This sounded so good, but unfortunately, we didn't care for it. The ginger overpowered and gave it a rather pungent taste and left an aftertaste. If I were to make this again, I would completely omit the ginger and maybe even reduce the amount of nutmeg. The other ingredient that overpowers are the raisins. I reduced the amount to 2 Tbsp. and still felt as if all I were eating were raisins. Had I added the full 1/2c, the entire bowl would have been nothing but raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I used oat groats instead of steel cut oats. The apple and raisins made this sweet enough without sugar. I made this dairy free, so avoided the butter and yogurt. This great spicy smelling cereal made breakfast fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Tastes just like carrot cake when you add the yogurt just not as sweet as the real think. Will keep in my frequently made file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
So delicious! I mixed in a teaspoon of cream cheese to give it even more of a carrot cake feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShayLovesSugar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States