Carrot Cake Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
made as written; this is a great way to make oatmeal. i love the crunchy nuttiness of the steel cut oats and the textures of the carrots and apples. will make again for sure. thanks for the post monsterclowngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
tasty way to use up some SCOs I purchased for another recipe. The type of apple will alter the sweetness of this recipe. Very tasty, filling breakfast. I added a splash of maple syrup and a bit of crushed cloves at the table. The dish seemed to be screaming for some syrup. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
LOVE this! I did cut back on the nutmeg (probably only used 1/4 tsp.). Since I didn't have plain yogurt, I decided to use toasted vanilla coconut yogurt, which I thought went well with the other carrot cake flavors and it added just a touch more sweetness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really good and really filling. It needs a little something I can't put my finger on, so I'll peruse the other reviews and see if someone has already found the answer. I may even need to double the carrot! Next time I'll also add a little less apple. It tastes fine, but it overpowered the carrot. I also cut the raisins. It was nice and easy to make it the night before, and reheat it for about a minute and half the next morning.I just have rolled oats instead of steel-cut, and halving the recipe and adjusting a few ingredients yielded me a nice, full breakfast. I dolloped it with nonfat Greek yogurt, and it was a nice touch. I'll certainly make this again, but try - just for fun - using instead a dollop of nonfat cream cheese! Both option sound awesome to me. I cut the ginger in half, cause even though I love ginger, it seemed like a bit much, and the ginger flavor I got was perfect! Subtle enough that it wasn't overpowering, but as a ginger-lover strong enough to give a tasty zing to the dish. Once I find what this needs, I'll update and re-rate this review accordingly. Until then, I still say this is a great addition to my breakfast rotation! UPDATE: Definitely double the carrot! Also, the tip of adding a little pineapple juice is a small change that makes a great difference! Highly suggested. I also tried topping with nonfat cream cheese that I whipped with a few drops of vanilla. That was SO good! Fat free whipped topping prepared the same way would be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was very good. One of the spices seemed to come through a little too much but I couldn't pick it out and I think I would like a little more carrot. I used empire apple and the only change I made was using dried tart cherries (I don't care for raisins much) I don't care for "regular" oatmeal and love instant so I was hesitant to try this but this was a good pick for my first use of steel cut oats and definitely a keeper. I should also say that I have never had carrot cake so I can't compare the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe is very delicious, I love carrot cake and this is exactly what carrot cake oatmeal should taste like. All the ingredients compliment each other very well and I definitely recommend this recipe especially if you are busy most mornings, you can make one batch and it will last you a couple of mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I combined all ingredients except the pecans and yogurt, and left everything in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours. Added garnish in the morning and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
A great start to my day, and it makes enough to last a week! I love all the spices in this oatmeal and I think it had just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very nice. I cooked my oats in a mixture of water and coconut milk (cutting back to a little over 3 cups, because I like it thicker). I cut back on the amount of spice but did add some cardamom and allspice to the mix...probably about a teaspoon and a half total spice mixture. I should have chopped my apple more finely...my apple pieces didn't get soft enough, and I added a good dose of vanilla. My time was limited, so I skipped the pecans (I will definitely try them next time), and I didn't use the yogurt this time, either. This is a keeper for me, though, and I'll definitely make again. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Mmmmmmm Love this recipe! I don't change a thing, but have varied the nuts depending on what I have on hand. Slivered almonds and walnuts work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States