Carrot Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake is delicious and so easy to make. The hardest part is grating the carrots, make sure to set aside enough time for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
a simple recipie all will love.You can't go wrong with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This recipe is very close to the one my mom was "famous" for. I used all-purpose flour and did not add baking powder or soda and it is just fine. For those who do not like a lot of "spice", this is a great recipe. I only used 1 teaspoon and it is just right for us. I also did not add nuts this time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I halved the recipe and only made one layer, but this cake came out great. It had a moist, tender crumb inside but there was a slight crispness to the top and bottom that I just loved. Next time I will try adding 1/2 cup golden raisins. I may also try making it with grated apples or Fuyu (hard) persimmons instead of carrots! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I have made this cake before and was not happy about all the oil it required. Today, I made it with only 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. It was every bit as good. Next time I'll try it with half oil and half applesauce. -The people that gave this cake only 1 star I suspect their problem may have been that they did not use self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I LOVED this cake! WOW! My kids couldn't even wait until it was frosted. It was super sweet and moist. I think the problem some of the others had was that they may have missed the self-rising flour. I did! I had everything mixed and had to go back and add salt and baking powder. (3 tsp baking powder & 1 tsp salt) I also baked this in a 9x13 pan and it worked well. Great recipe, Diane! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
delicious & simple but i changed the white sugar to brown sugar & i added a handful of raisins-oh & you don't need all that sugar for the topping -add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was easy and good. Adding raisins made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I've made this cake on several occasions and I love it. I am not a fan of raisins or pineapple in carrot cake, and have found this recipe to be a great stand by. People love it when I bring it to parties, and I've always found it to be easy to make with fantastic results. I sometimes add a bit more spices to it, but depends on my mood. I'm not sure what the reviewers who found the texture to be weird or gross did, but for me, this recipe has always been moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. Very easy and simple and everyone loved it. It taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States