Carrot Cake IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I have made this cake before and was not happy about all the oil it required. Today, I made it with only 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. It was every bit as good. Next time I'll try it with half oil and half applesauce. -The people that gave this cake only 1 star I suspect their problem may have been that they did not use self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. Very easy and simple and everyone loved it. It taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake is delicious and so easy to make. The hardest part is grating the carrots, make sure to set aside enough time for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I've made this cake on several occasions and I love it. I am not a fan of raisins or pineapple in carrot cake, and have found this recipe to be a great stand by. People love it when I bring it to parties, and I've always found it to be easy to make with fantastic results. I sometimes add a bit more spices to it, but depends on my mood. I'm not sure what the reviewers who found the texture to be weird or gross did, but for me, this recipe has always been moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was easy and good. Adding raisins made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
delicious & simple but i changed the white sugar to brown sugar & i added a handful of raisins-oh & you don't need all that sugar for the topping -add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I LOVED this cake! WOW! My kids couldn't even wait until it was frosted. It was super sweet and moist. I think the problem some of the others had was that they may have missed the self-rising flour. I did! I had everything mixed and had to go back and add salt and baking powder. (3 tsp baking powder & 1 tsp salt) I also baked this in a 9x13 pan and it worked well. Great recipe, Diane! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I was looking for something very quick and easy (which it was) that the kids would eat (which they didn't). There was a total lack of flavor...my apologies to the person who submitted this one...but maybe all those spices are there for a reason, because this was very bland and the texture of the cake was just "wierd"...I don't know how else to describe it. I took it to a party and ended up tossing most of the cake when we came home. We will not make this one again, but will go back to the tried and true recipe with all of the spices and the crushed pineapple and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
EXCELLENT! i made it for easter and it was a big hit. people who said they don't like carrot cake said it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
this recipe was quite possibly the grossest and weirdest tasting and looking "cakes" (and i use that term loosely) that i have ever made, tasted, and seen. eeww. sorry to the person who invented this cake, but it is lacking ingredients and its not a good thing! they're there for a reason...TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States