Carrot Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this for easter and got SEVERAL recipes requests...now it's kind of embarrassing to send out a recipe whose base is a box mix, oh well:) My tweaks: Used 20 oz Duncan Hines mix and rehydrated the carrots& raisins in 1c hot water. Dumped it all in. Pureed the pineapple (bought rings on accident) with juice and dumped it all in. Cut oil to 1/4 cup. This made 2 nice 9-inch rounds. Used a combo of the cream cheese frosting recipes: 2 sticks of butter 3 8oz cream cheese 4 c powdered sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla (I was also frosting 2 dozen cupcakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I couldn't find a carrot cake mix so I used a golden butter cake mix and added two cups of shredded carrot. It came out really moist but still had a cake mix flavor to me. Everyone else loved it. I definitely should have used more spice. Two teaspoons wasn't enough for the butter cake mix. Maybe some ginger and nutmeg could have helped to mask the cake mix flavor. I topped cake with cream cheese frosting and nuts. Super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
great recipe, no problems here or alterations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is so much like homemade! It was a little crumbly but I didnt mince up the pineapple. I did add 1/4 cup minced carrot and it was so good! Would be great with homemade cream cheese icing!! I'm going to add raisons next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was such a delicious alternative to the typical carrot cake. I made it for my friend's birthday and she loved it! Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolinasiris
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
very great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
these are really good. i added a half shredded carrot for a more home-made taste. i layered the cake in four and filled it with cream cheese frosting; the cake really held well. altogether, the taste reminded me of "pumpkin roll cake" in the site. i will never labor for carrot cake scratch anymore! , and probably will never make "pumpkin roll cake" again. thank you, submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe is the one that's right on the back of the cake mix box except this uses three eggs rather than four. I made this with the four eggs as directed on the box. This isn't bad for a cake mix cake, but after mixing it up, baking it and then tasting it I wondered why I bothered with the mix. Given that you're already mixing up several ingredients, it would take very little extra effort to add the few additonal ingredients a scratch cake would require. I did add about a cup of shredded carrot, but again, I asked myself why I was tryng to make something taste homemade instead of actually making it homemade. Too many ingredients for what is still a cake mix tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States