Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by majestasia
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
absolutley perfect cake! in austria we have great cakes, but couldn't find a good carrot cake recipe here, i think it's more american than austrian ;) made it with brown sugar and chopped almonds. made cupcakes out of them with lemon-mascarpone frosting. wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Okay, I made this cake twice, I rated it on the actual recipe. Here is what I think of the actual recipe: The cake is bland, there is WAY too much icing!! Even my kids couldnt take it! I read other reviews and tried it with these changes: I added 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 extra tsp cinnamon, 1 extra tsp vanilla, 3/4cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. The cake was moist and perfect! Then for the frosting, I just made half the recipe, it was perfect! That is a 5 star cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Everyone is still raving about how moist it tasted. I'll probably add less sugar to the cream cheese icing next time, but I definitely recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tandre
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this recipe since 2004, and it has been my husband's de facto birthday cake (he insists) every year since. Anyone lucky enough to share the cake says it's the best they've ever had. I have never changed the ingredients for the cake, only the way I bake it: in two 8" round cake pans. I use frosting in between the layers, and additional coarsely ground pecans on the finished outer frosting (no need to make more than the recipe calls for). I've also made cupcakes, just as successfully, without changing a thing. Tammy Elliott, you are famous in my family even though we don't know you. This cake will never leave us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I did all the changes suggested by GneeBeanie and it is absolutely wonderful! Thanks to all who contributed to this recipe my family will be enjoying this recipe for years to come:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!!! I am on a strict gluten free diet so I just sub out the AP flour for my GF blend and it makes this moist amazing cake! I also use 1 1/2 cups evaporated cane sugar instead of the white sugar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made this cake for my housemates and everyone loved it! Perfectly moist and not too sweet. Due to a lack of certain ingredients, I made just the basic cake, no pecans and no icing, but it was deliciously simple. Next time, I will go for the simple cake again, but with a side of ice cream or vanilla yogourt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Huge thumbs down. Followed recipe as written. Severely disappointed. Divided batter in half, but only good thing about this cake is the moisture. Texture: inside spongy & moist, outside dark brown and crunchy. Taste: overpowered by the abundance of oil and sugar. I can see the shredded carrots but cannot detect them one bit. Frosting: too sweet. I tried cutting out 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, but still too sweet and not enough cream cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It's true that this recipe, as any other, can easily be altered to personal preferences but I made it exactly as directed and it was a great 5 star Carrot Cake Recipe as is! Thanks for sharing =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 4,188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States